Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Microforms at the Harvard Library

Getting Started

Requesting Microfilm

Harvard Law Library's Microfilm Collections are in storage in two locations 

Items listed in HOLLIS with the collection code MIC  may be requested via Access Services at the Circulation desk (how?). They should be available one business day after the request. 

Items listed as MIC Offsite Storage may be requested via HOLLIS and should be delivered within one to two business days.

Microfilm items will be held for you at the Circulation Desk and may be kept on hold as long as you are using them. You will receive an email when your items are available.

Find The HOLLIS Number

To request microfilm, you will need to find the HOLLIS record for the title.

Search HOLLIS

The Collection List:

For some of our larger microfilm and microfiche collections, you can also find HOLLIS  number using the collections lists below. 

Microform Collection List

Collection List A-F

Collection List G-M

Collection List N-S

Collection List T-Z

Printing & Scanning

Scanning and Reading Microforms

The microform reader/scanner is located in the 3d floor Research Room, Room 353.

Scanning and printing from microforms is free

Using the ScanPro 2000 Reader/Scanners

Mounting the Microfilm or Microfiche

Double-click the PowerScan2000 icon  PowerScan 2000 button

Select the appropriate media type 

Pull carrier unit forward to open glass and load the film or fiche:

Microfiche: 

Place microfiche under glass face down and head in .

Microfilm:  

Mount reel on left side of carrier with film coming off top, and thread film as indicated in red arrows.

Diagram o f

 

Thread film through take up reel and turn reel two times (blue arrow) to secure.

 

 Push black handle back to close glass.

Moving and Adjusting the Film/Fiche

Microfiche:

View different pages by moving black handle (handle used to mount fiche)

Microfilm:

Use motorized roll film control panel  to advance the film until you reach your document.

Film Control Panel

Use icons until correct orientation is attained.

Mirror button  rotate button

Use the magnifier icon to zoom in on certain parts of the document.

Print or Scan

Use the following icons to print or to scan & save your document.

scan button print button

Anything in the green box on the screen will be printed or scanned.

Printing and scanning from microforms is free.

Scanners 1 & 2 (ScanPro2000)

Finishing Up

Finishing Up

When you are done, please return microform material to the circulation desk.

Getting Help

Contact Us!

  Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

 Email research@law.harvard.edu

 Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

Drop-In Reference Visit our online Office Hours

 Meet with Us  Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours  Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

 Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728