Skip to main content

Finding Book Reviews of Law-Related Books and in Legal Publications

A guide for finding reviews of books related to law or in law-related publications.

Home

Introduction

This guide is designed as an introduction to finding book reviews, particularly in law-related areas.  It focues more on book reviews for scholars as opposed to librarians for purchase decisions.   For more sources on finding book reviews (particularly on older titles before the 1980's, see Finding Book Reviews (FAS).

This guide focuses very much on US and English-language books. For non-US books originally published in the vernacular, sometimes national bibliographies, regional studies databases, newspapers and other resources for the particular country.

RSS feeds from selected book review sources

Loading ...
Loading ...

Finding book reviews in journals

Introduction

Most indexes/databases have the ability to limit to "book reviews" or "reviews."   Below are some selected databases you can use that let you limit to book reviews, usually under document type.  In general, check the advanced search functions of databases related to your discipline.

This guide focuses very much on US and English-language books. For non-US books originally published in the vernacular, sometimes national bibliographies, regional studies databases, newspapers and other resources for the particular country.

Legal indexes/databases

Interdisciplinary databases

Political Science and History

Economics

Psychology and Education

Selected review publications

Other

News sources, blogs and Internet generally

Book Reviews in General News Sources

Legal Newspaper Sources

Amazon

Amazon often includes excerpts from book reviews, as well as user-contributed reviews.

Other Media

Other guides

Other guides for finding book reviews