Newspapers
NexisUni (1980s- ) is the usual first choice for finding recent newspaper articles, with full text (pictures omitted) coverage of numerous U.S. and overseas newspapers. Note that the default search on the initial screen is OR between words. Tips for Advanced Search.
Factiva (1980s- ) offers full text (pictures omitted) of over 6,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services and trade journals. Use Internet Explorer. For details on the publications included, open Support? (upper right), select Content Watch, select Source Search. To limit to a particular newspaper enter, e.g., sn=wall street journal and "search term". Articles for which the copyright resides with the author rather than the newspaper which are not available in LexisNexis sometimes have a citation without full text in Factiva. Includes the Wall Street Journal full text, 1984- (abstracts, 6/13/1979-1983). Search Guide: Factiva User Guide: Browsing & Searching (Boston College guide)
Articles for which the copyright resides with the author rather than the newspaper will not generally be available in NexisUni or Factiva, although Factiva sometimes provides citations. Use newspaper indexes to find articles omitted from the full text sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) offers full-text of 90 newspapers and other periodicals (1990- ) and of 30 African American, Hispanic American, and Native American newspapers and other periodicals (1959-1989). Includes book/film/television reviews. Lists of periodicals by ethnicity. Includes African American, Arab American, Asian American, European American, Hispanic/Latino/Chicano, Jewish, Native American newspapers. For more newspapers by ethnicity, see: Additional U.S. Ethnic Newspaper Sources
Newspapers.com. World collection (early 1700s-early 2000s). Includes papers from US, Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Panama and Wales. If you choose Browse at the top, you get a convenient breakdown of the available papers.
NewspaperARCHIVE offers numerous newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains many small-city newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (mostly 19th-20th century) include illustrations, editorials, and advertising. Available papers are listed below.
General Newspapers
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
- Austin American Statesman (1871-1977)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1991)
- Boston Globe (1872-1985). The ProQuest Boston Globe (1980- ) is available to Massachusetts residents. Scroll down to Boston Globe.
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1993)
- Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
- The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922)
- Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
- Hartford Courant (1764-1991)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1993)
- New York Times (1851-2013)
- New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962)
- Newsday (1940-1988)
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1994): 1889-1922; 1923-1996
- Washington Post (1877-2000)
Search all ProQuest news sources using: Proquest News & Newspapers. Search across all newspapers, or select a custom group of titles to search across, rather than searching just one title.