Medical Education Journals at Countway
- MedEd PortalFeatures peer-reviewed education resources
- Medical Education DevelopmentFrom 2011
- The Medical TeacherCovers international medical education research. Published in London. Choose link from Informa to read the most recent issues.
Mainstream Journals that Publish Medical Education Articles
Titles added here based on data from Lee K, Whelan JS, Tannery NH, Kanter SL, Peters AS. 50 years of publication in the field of medical education. Med Teach. 2013 Jul;35(7):591-8. doi: 10.3109/0142159X.2013.786168. Epub 2013 Apr 22. PubMed PMID: 23607497.
Books from the Countway Collection
- Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher byCall Number: W 18 H259e 2012ISBN: 9780702045820Publication Date: 2012-06-262013 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Basis of Medicine! Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher is a new book that will serve as a perfect introduction for new teachers to the exciting opportunities facing them, whether they are working in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing education. It will also be of considerable use to more experienced teachers to review and assess their own practice and gain a new perspective on how best to facilitate their students' or trainees' learning. ... About the authors Ronald M Harden is General Secretary for the Association of Medical Education in Europe, Editor of Medical Teacher, former Professor of Medical Education, Director of the Centre for Medical Education and Teaching Dean at the University of Dundee, UK ....The text provides hints drawn from practical experience to help teachers create powerful learning opportunities for their students, providing readable guidelines and introducing new techniques that potentially could be adopted for use in any teaching programme. Throughout the book introduces some key basic principles that underpin the practical advice that is given and which will help to inform teaching practice. This book will assist readers to reflect on and analyse with colleagues the different ways that their work as a teacher or trainer can be approached and how their student or trainee's learning can be made more effective.
- Healthy presentations : how to craft exceptional lectures in medicine, the health professions, and the biomedical sciences byISBN: 9783030727567Publication Date: 2021
- Remediation in Medical Education byCall Number: W 20 R386 2014ISBN: 9781461490258Publication Date: 2014-01-01Remediation in medical education is the act of facilitating a correction for trainees who started out on the journey toward becoming excellent physicians but have moved off course. This book offers an evidence-based and practical approach to the identification and remediation of medical trainees who are unable to perform to standards.
- DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination byCall Number: On OrderISBN: 9780071814478Publication Date: 2014-09-05Much more than a text describing how to perform a history and physical examination, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination will [..] help you logically assess symptoms and physical signs to facilitate development of reasonable, testable diagnostic hypotheses. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis guide, DeGowin's: Describes how to obtain a complete history and perform a thorough physical examination Links symptoms and signs with the pathophysiology of disease Presents a symptom, sign, anatomy, and physiology-based approach to differential diagnosis Facilitates efficient cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses Organized as a practical bedside guide to assist diagnosis, DeGowin's is valuable as a quick reference at the point-of-care or as a text to study the principles and practice of history taking and physical examination.
- Medical Education byCall Number: W 18 M4888 2011ISBN: 9780702035227Publication Date: 2010-11-02Medical Education: Theory and Practice is a new text linking the theory and the practice for graduate students and educators who want to go beyond the basics. The scholarship of medical education is, above all, a 'practice', but one that has a strong theoretical foundation. Neither theory nor practice stand still, and both are grounded in research. The novelty of this book lies in its interweaving of practice, theory, innovation and research. The book starts with a theorised, contemporary overview of the field. Next, it explores the theoretical foundations of medical education in depth. The remainder of the book reviews a whole a range of educational contexts, processes and outcomes. This work has been edited by a distinguished, international team of medical educationalists and written by equally accomplished authors from across the globe representing a spectrum of disciplines. This will be an invaluable text for all Masters Students in health professions education as well as PhD students and education researchers wanting a background to the discipline. Educators and medical students will also find it a very useful resource. Written by key figures in medical educational research combined with a strong editorial influence from the international editorial team. The text has a strong evidence-based approach that is fully cognisant of research methodology issues, The book provides a scholarly explanation on the topic, rather than aiming to say the last word. Written throughout in a clear and comprehensible style. The content is extensively referenced with additional suggestions for further reading.
- Handbook of the Sociology of Medical Education byCall Number: W 18 H2365 2012ISBN: 9780415460446Publication Date: 2009-09-01The Handbook of the Sociology of Medical Education provides a contemporary introduction to this classic area of sociology by examining the social origin and implications of the epistemological, organizational and demographic challenges facing medical education in the twenty-first century. Beginning with reflections on the historical and theoretical foundations of the sociology of medical education, the collection then focuses on current issues affecting medical students, the profession and the faculty, before exploring medical education in different national contexts. Leading sociologists analyze: the intersection of medical education and social structures such as gender, ethnicity and disability; the effect of changes in medical practice, such as the emergence of evidence-based medicine, on medical education; and the ongoing debates surrounding the form and content of medical curricula. By examining applied problems within a framework which draws from social theorists such as Pierre Bourdieu, this new collection suggests future directions for the sociological study of medical education and for medical education itself.
- Garduate Medical Education: issues and options byCall Number: W 20 W748g 2009Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Radcliffe Pub, c2009.
- Medical Education byCall Number: W 18 C164m 2006ISBN: 9780443074738Publication Date: 2006-12-12Highly Commended - BMA Awards 2007 - "I would certainly reccomend this book to all in Medical Education" Medical education, both for undergraduate and postgraduate students and for those training in their chosen specialty, is currently undergoing great change. In Medical Education: Past, Presant and Future: Handing on Learning, Sir Kenneth Calman puts this change in its proper historical context and also examines the current upheavals and their implications for the future. An ambitious but timely project made readable and specific by the use of a case-based approach - a book of this range and type has not been attempted since the early 20th century Written by a known expert in the field and therefore individualistic - but with a real insider's attributes of being able to discriminate between what does and does not matter - the insider viewpoint - especially of someone so recently involved at the centre of political and educational debate The overall theme of "regulation" covers not just the professionals' viewpoint but also the public's - and therefore covers political influences on the educational and regulatory process
- Understanding Medical Education byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118472408Publication Date: 2013-12-31Written by leading experts in the field, Understanding Medical Education provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice. This authoritative and accessible reference is designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education from undergraduate education through postgraduate training to continuing professional development.As well as providing practical guidance for clinicians, teachers and researchers,
Books of Note from NEGEA
- The Educator's portfolio byCall Number: W 18.3 S613e 1993Publication Date: 1993
- Just in Time Teaching byCall Number: LB 2331 J96 2010ISBN: 9781579222932Publication Date: 2009-11-01Second copy available at Gutman Library.