Finding Periodical and Newspaper Articles
Magazines/Periodicals
Guide to Indian periodical literature, 1964- .
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.70 Harvard Depository. Current Issues: Periodicals Reading Room Stacks
Index India (1967- ) indexes Indian language periodical literature.
LOCATION: Widener: Ind 300.80 (1967-93)
LOCATION: Widener: Ind 300.80.2 Index Pt.1: Author index. Pt.2: Subject index. Library has: 3 v. 1967-1976
Index Indiana, 1977- .
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI19.I5 I52x (1977-88)
Index to Indian periodicals: sociology and psychology, 1886-1970, ed. by Nirmal Ruprail, K.G. Tyagi. New Delhi: National Social Science Documentation Centre, Indian Council of Social Science Research, 1987, 905, 533 p.
Widener | WID-LC | HM1.Z99 I53 1987x
A select bibliography of periodical literature on India and Pakistan, 1947-70, by Pervaiz Iqbal Cheema. Islamabad: National Commission on Historical and Cultural Research, 1976-1984 3 v.
Widener | WID-LC | DS407.Z99 C33x
British Periodicals (1681-1920) offers full text for several hundred British periodicals
19th Century UK Periodicals Online, 1800-1900 includes:
Part 2 - "Empire": periodicals on the British empire published in Britain
Newspaper Articles
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India (1838-2005)
South Asian Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive) offers full text of 7 newspapers covering various date spans, 1805-1922.
Indian newspaper reports, 1868-1942, from the British Library, London.
Marlborough : Adam Matthew Publications Ltd., 2005-<2009>
8 pts. on 211 microfilm reels
-- Consists of weekly typewritten abstracts taken from a wide variety of Indian newspapers, with some extracts. Translated by an official translator. Each report is divided into the following sections: Foreign politics -- Home administration: Police. Working of the courts. Jails. Education. Local self-government and municipal administration. Questions affecting the land. Railways and communications, including canals and irrigation. General (including a wide range of topics) -- Legislative -- Native States -- Prospects of the crops and condition of the people -- Miscellaneous
-- pt. 1. Bengal, 1874-1903 (27 reels) -- pt. 2. Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels) -- pt. 3. Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c1868-1896 (29 reels) -- pt. 4. United Provinces, 1897-1937 (29 reels)--pt. 5. Madras, 1876-1921 (32 reels)--pt. 6. Bombay, 1874-1898 (18 reels) -- pt. 7. Bombay, 1901-1921 (25 reels) -- pt. 8. Punjab, 1896-1924; Sind, 1936-1939; Burma, 1938-1942; Bihar and Orissa 1920 (25 reels).
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1365
Online Guides
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.
Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) offers the London Times full text, including news, editorials, advertising, pictures. Sunday Times is not included.
General Guide: Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes.