Photographica

More than a thousand of libraries, museums, and archives in the U.S. and worldwide have contributed over 5 million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can see detailed records and digital images for many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, or order copies.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) contains metadata records —information describing an item —for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website. The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.

Harvard Digital Collections provides free, public access to more than 6 million objects digitized from our collections - from ancient art to modern manuscripts and audio visual materials.

Use HOLLIS for Archival Discovery to discover primary sources including letters, photographs, film and video, print items, digital materials, and objects in Harvard's special collections and archives.

SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context) is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world.