This guide is designed to help you find resources and services relevant to your research for this course taught by Dr. Leslie Rith-Najarian. If you have any questions about the libraries or about doing research at Harvard, please don't hesitate to ask.
Selected Resources for Background & Overviews
These are resources that are especially helpful when you are getting started in a subject area. Start with a general search and then narrow in if you are getting too many results.
History of Psychology from Oxford Bibliographies Online: Psychology is part of a series of selective online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories surveys the range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present.
Oxford Handbook of the History of Psychology: Global Perspectives describes the historical development ofpsychologyin countries throughout the world.
Annual Review of Psychology is part of a series offering comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars in the sciences and social sciences.
Key Journal Databases
PsycInfo is the premier database for locating research and scholarship in psychology and its many subfields, PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage includes items from over 1800 journals in more than 24 languages. Content dates back to 1872 for some journals.
HOLLIS enables you to search books, articles, images, and other materials in a variety of formats in the Harvard Library collection. Remember to sign in for full access.
Web of Science is a database that enables you to search across nearly thousands of widely read and often cited academic journals. Coverage is particularly strong in science related fields, including psychology. One of the special features of Web of Science is the ability to do citation searching in order to discover how many times and by whom an article has been cited since its publication.
Using Archives & Special Collections
You may find material related to your topic in an archive or special collection. The following resources provide information on finding, requesting, and using materials from Harvard special collections and archives.
HOLLIS for Archival Discovery enables you to explore collection guides, finding aids and inventories to locate unique materials in Harvard special collections and archives. Materials include letters, photos, film, digital items, and objects.
How to Use Harvard Library's Special Collections and Archives - You will generally need to request materials in advance for use in the reading room of the library holding the material.
HOLLIS Special Request Guide: How to use HOLLIS Special Request to request and track materials for use onsite in library reading rooms or request digital and print copies of library materials.
Library Research Guide for Finding Manuscripts and Archival Collections - a guide created by Harvard librarians for locating collections at Harvard and beyond.
Helpful Services & Tools
- Ask a Librarian - Send us your question virtually.
- Check Harvard Library Bookmark gets you to online material to which Harvard subscribes.
- Reference Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect, store, and manage reference information, research notes, and documents. They work with your word processor to manage in-text citations and to build bibliographies in nearly any format.
- Scan and Deliver - A free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff.
- Borrow Direct - For books not currently available at Harvard, you can request them through Borrow Direct. If one of the libraries in this network has the item, you should receive it within 4 days.