PsycINFO is the best database for psychology research. It indexes and provides abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines (psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, etc.) and is produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Social Sciences Premium Collection is a core resource for research in the social sciences. Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text, along with dissertations, books and book chapters, and association papers. This database is large and will bring back many results, so after running a search, you can always limit your results using the filters, like publication date, source type, language, etc.
Academic Search Premier is a good interdisciplinary database of citations, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Additional Databases
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes major journals in the sciences and social sciences, and is especially useful to find who cited an article after it was published.
Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. This page provides help connecting Google Scholar to Harvard Library.
Sociological Abstracts is a core resource for researchers, professionals, and students in sociology, social planning/policy, and related disciplines.
Education 3-in-1 Articles Search provides a combined search of three of the best databases for education research: ERIC, Education Source, and Academic Search Premier.
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
