Top Three Recommendations
Proquest Sociology Collection
Why: Covers the international literature in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. An essential resource for concentrators. Includes Sociological Abstracts (long considered the gold-standard disciplinary database for identifying publications from the most important, authoritative, and influential publications in the field).
Pro Tip: Like HOLLIS, this database can feel expansive in its reach into sociology. But also like HOLLIS, its robust filters (which can be applied before or after you run a search) give you control and greater precision.
JSTOR Sociology Collection
Why: As a smallish (156 journal titles at present) database, JSTOR's Sociology Collection allows for a focused search of a core academic collection that includes high profile sociology-related titles like the American Journal of Sociology, Sociological Quarterly, Social Forces, and Theory and Society.
Pro Tip: Most titles, however, embargo the most current issues of these journals (depending on the title, you might not see the most 1-5 years) -- so JSTOR will always require you to do supplemental searching elsewhere.
Academic Search Premier
Why:This database can be an excellent stepping stone to research -- a way to find voices, directions, and discourse communities either before or after you've sampled what's available in HOLLIS.
While still broad and multidisciplinary, it's a smaller universe than HOLLIS: it surfaces content from about 5,000 publications, and just over half of them are peer-reviewed.
