Reference works like these can be invaluable for providing concise overviews of topics, as well as the critical reception of an author's work, and pointing to key sources for further research.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Science Fiction • Time Travel • Samuel R. Delany • Latino Science Fiction • Philip K. Dick • H. G. Wells • Ursula K. Le Guin • Invasion of the Body Snatchers • Kim Stanley Robinson • Science Fiction Film • Military Science Fiction • Science Fiction Film Theory and Criticism
- Twentieth-Century American Science Fiction Writers by Biographical coverage of more than 90 writers, with recommended books for further reading.
- Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by The first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction, Brave New Words shows exactly how science-fictional words and their associated concepts have developed over time, with full citations and bibliographic information. It shows how many words we consider everyday vocabulary--words like "spacesuit," "blast off," and "robot"--had their roots in imaginative literature, and not in hard science. Words coined in science fiction have become part of the vocabulary of any number of subcultures and endeavors, from comics, to neo-paganism, to aerospace, to computers, to environmentalism, to zine culture. This is the first book to document this vocabulary transfer.
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Offers in-depth encyclopedia entries on literary theorists and critical movements
- The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction is a comprehensive overview of the history and study of science fiction. It outlines major writers, movements, and texts in the genre, established critical approaches and areas for future study. Fifty-six entries by a team of renowned international contributors are divided into four parts which look, in turn, at: history - an integrated chronological narrative of the genre's development theory - detailed accounts of major theoretical approaches including feminism, Marxism, psychoanalysis, cultural studies, postcolonialism, posthumanism and utopian studies issues and challenges - anticipates future directions for study in areas as diverse as science studies, music, design, environmentalism, ethics and alterity subgenres - a prismatic view of the genre, tracing themes and developments within specific subgenres. Bringing into dialogue the many perspectives on the genre The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction is essential reading for anyone interested in the history and the future of science fiction and the way it is taught and studied.
The Internet Speculative Fiction Database
This astonishingly comprehensive catalog of science fiction, fantasy, and horror provides edition histories, translations, cover art credits, and much more.