History & Literature Junior Tutorial (Sohm)

• If you're searching for primary sources on a topic, one good place to start is a secondary source that cites original texts, manuscripts, and archives.
• Conversely, published editions of primary sources will often cite secondary sources for context, commentary, and history.
• In particular, critical editions of literary works often have extensive commentary and analysis.

A good starting point for finding both primary and secondary sources is a reference work or bibliography. You can find reference works in HOLLIS by searching for your subject and adding keywords like Encyclopedia, Guide, Dictionary, Handbook, Companion, or Introduction.

One e-resource that combines reference entries with robust bibliographies is Oxford Bibliographies. Another resource, Oxford Reference Online, lets you search across hundreds of reliable reference sources.

► To find subject headings for browsing, bring up the HOLLIS record for a book you already know about; or do a keyword search for your topic, such as "Surveillance capitalism" or Nigeria* AND "oil extraction". (This is how I found some of the subject headings suggested on the following pages.)

► Use the Advanced Search in HOLLIS to combine a subject heading with other keywords, e.g.

• Subject "white supremacy" + Keywords "great replacement"
• Subject "petroleum industry" + Keyword Saudi
• Subject Privacy + Keyword Capitalis*

► If the HOLLIS record for a book doesn't tell you enough about its contents, try searching for the book in Google Books. Even if the entire text is not available, you can often get a substantial preview, and search by keyword to see if the book mentions a particular topic.

FOR PRIMARY SOURCES:
► When you browse, look for subjects with these subheadings: Diaries • Interviews • Sources • Archival resources • Newspapers • Personal Narratives •  Biography • Pictorial Works • Comic Books • Caricatures and cartoons

FOR LITERARY EXPRESSIONS OF A THEME:
► For novels, plays, and stories about a topic, look for subject headings with these subheadings: Fiction • In Literature • Juvenile fiction • Drama • Poetry • Literary collections

FOR GUIDES TO DOING RESEARCH ON A TOPIC:
► Combine a keyword phrase (e.g., Far right) or a subject heading with subjects Research -- Methodology or Information Resources.