Researching Foreign Relations

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)       US Doc 1120.5   (Level D Lamont)

Record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Selected volumes are available with full text on the State Dept. Web site:  http://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments

 

For the most current information see the US State Department homepage http://www.state.gov/

 

Office of the Historian publishes the official documentary history of U.S. foreign policy and provides historical research and advice for the Department of State http://history.state.gov/

Harvard subscribes to these specialized online collections:

India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966

Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963

The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. The charismatic leader of Indonesia, Achmed Sukarno, steered his country between the political machinations of the Army Staff and the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI). These records consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors.

Look for more collections in HOLLIS with the subject phrase United States--Department of State--Archives