Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works
These indispensable resources can give you a succinct overview of a topic, written by an expert, often including a review of the scholarly literature and the major movements and debates in the field. Almost every article will have a bibliography for more in-depth reading.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and PerformanceThe Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments around the globe.
The Cambridge History of British TheatreThis three-volume set explores the rich and complex histories of English, Scottish and Welsh theatres from early Britain to the present.
The Cambridge History of American TheatreThe Cambridge History of American Theatre is an authoritative and wide-ranging history of American theatre in all its dimensions, from theatre building to play writing, directors, performers, and designers.
International Encyclopedia of Dance OnlineWith nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
Oxford Reference Online: Performing ArtsA searchable collection of seventeen reference works on theater, dance, and opera.
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThe Oxford Handbooks offer authoritative surveys of current thinking and research. The "Performing Arts" subset focuses entirely on dance, with nearly 500 articles.
Theatre in Context CollectionA large collection of theatre history texts such as Odell's Annals of the New York Stage, alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
The Cambridge Companion to Theatre HistoryThis Companion offers students a series of accessible and engaging essays on the key aspects of studying and writing theatre history. The diverse international team of contributors investigates how theatre history has been constructed, showing how historical facts are tied to political and artistic agendas and explaining why history matters to us.
