Library Catalog
HOLLISHOLLIS is the library's main search interface. It includes the Harvard library catalog as well as a huge (and more heterogeneous) collection of citations for a variety of materials, including articles and book chapters. HOLLIS does not search the full-text of books and articles, though you find occasional exceptions.
Language, Literature, and Translation
Asymptote by Winner of the 2015 London Book Fair's International Literary Translation Initiative Award, Asymptote is the premier site for world literature in translation. Asymptote presents work in translation alongside the original texts, as well as audio recordings of those original texts whenever possible.
Granta by Founded in 1889 by students at Cambridge University as The Granta and named after the river that runs through the town, Granta magazine publishes new literary fiction, memoir, reportage, and poetry by international writers from around the world, translated into English. It also includes commentary by some of the translators. For full access and for older editions, check the Harvard Library's holdings of Granta, by viewing the HOLLIS record.
Poetry Magazine and Poetry Foundation website by Translations are published throughout the year and in an annual translation issue to deepen readers’ engagement with foreign-language poetry. The complete archive of the magazine is available for free online, as are related audio, video, and monthly podcasts. Additionally, online issues are cataloged in HOLLIS.
While the Harvard Libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, some of these titles are temporarily available for online check out via HathiTrust: step-by-step instructions. For items that are not digitally available, please try Scan & Deliver (for chapter requests) or Lamont Library West Door Pickup (schedule via HOLLIS).
Bangiya Sahitya ParishadClick the link above to view holdings in HOLLIS of publications generated by this literary society of India.
Bangla Academy of BangladeshClick the link above to view holdings in HOLLIS of publications generated by this literary society of Bangladesh.
Dravidian Linguistics AssociationClick the link above to view holdings in HOLLIS of publications generated by this Learned Society of India.
Historical Sources for Hindi/Urdu Language and LiteratureAssembled by Dr. Frances W. Pritchett, Professor Emerita of Modern Indic Languages
Department of Middle Eastern, South Asian, and African Studies, Columbia University
Madras Literary SocietyClick the link above to view holdings in HOLLIS of publications generated by this Learned Society of India.
Paschimbanga Bangla AkademiClick the link above to view holdings in HOLLIS of publications generated by this regulatory body of the Bengali language in West Bengal, India.
South and Southeast Asian Literature: Classic and Postcolonial Writers in English, 1825 to presentA growing collection of literature written in English by writers from or culturally identifed with South and Southeast Asia. Most of the works included are from the late colonial periond though to the present. Once completed, the collection will also offer manuscript material and author interveiws.
South Asian Literary Recordings ProjectLaunched in April 2000, to record the voices of South Asian authors for the Library of Congress' Archive of Recorded World Literature, the project has captured the readings of prominent South Asian poets, novelists, and playwrights. The authors recorded so far represent more than fifteen of the languages of India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
South Asia open archives (SAOA)A collection of open access materials, for the study of South Asia via the Center for Research Libraries Global Resources Network in partnership with JSTOR. Over 350,000 pages of historical and contemporary content in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and a variety of South Asian languages. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.
Tamil Collection, University of TorontoPrivate Treasures to Global Public Access is a collaboration between the University of Toronto Libraries and the French Institute of Pondicherry Tamil Studies Programme that provides global access to the Tamil collection of Professor Gros. The Gros collection is extensive and unique in scope, including rare and unique Tamil language and culture materials and modern publications in Tamil, as well as European rare books and South Asian Studies works.
Please note that your professor has posted tales and myths for you to choose among on the course website. The small selection below is available to supplement those; consult professor Chadbourne before deciding to write about any tales or myths that she has not provided to you directly.
Due to COVID-19, the selected resources have been limited to those available online.
The Jātaka: Or, Stories of the Buddha's Former Births by Here is an ancient collection of stories translated into English from Pali, chronicling the multiple births of the Buddha. These tales influenced many Western intellectuals, from Herodotus to Boccaccio and Chaucer.
Motif-Index of Folk-Literature by
"This monumental work has now become... the indispensable tool of all folk narrative scholars." --Southern Folklore Quarterly "A work of this kind can never be quite complete, but in this work Stith Thompson has approached perfection." --Volkskunde "An invaluable aid to students and scholars... " --Reference & Research Book News Indiana University Press, with the generous support of the L. J. and Mary C. Skaggs Foundation, is pleased to announce the republication of this folklore classic, in honor of the centenary of the American Folklore Society.
Call Number: Widener RR 4791.25 (6 vols.)ISBN: 0253338840
The Ocean of Story; being C.H. Tawney's translation of Somadeva's Kathā Sarit Sāgara; or, Ocean of Streams of Story by Original folk tales of India, translated into English.
Types of the Folk Tale by Publication Date: 1971Antti Aarne's Verzeichnis der Märchentypen (FF communications no. 3) translated into English and enlarged by Stith Thompson. Be aware, this covers folktales worldwide, and is not limited to Ireland. Note: While the Harvard Libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this title is temporarily available for Check Out via HathiTrust. Step-by-step instructions.
Hindi and Urdu Research Guide: Language by Contains alphabet and script guides, grammar and writing guides, dictionaries, language learning tools, texts, and multimedia resources.
Find Scholarly Articles
While these databases are online and contain many full text materials, you may sometimes encounter citations without a link to full text. In these cases, there is often an option for obtaining the full text, whether through a scanning or borrowing service. Please ask Ramona.
Academic Search PremierA multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.
AnthroSourceProvides current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 35 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)Arts & Humanities Citation Index, published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work.
Bibliography of Asian StudiesIndexes more than 545,000 records on all subjects related to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present (primary disciplines covered are in the humanities and social sciences). Note well that monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, so for books in these areas please consult other databases (such as HOLLIS or WorldCat).
Cross-Asia Repository (xasia)A full text, open-access platform for research literature in Asian Studies (including South and Southeast Asian Studies) contributed by academics from all over the world.
JSTORProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. Nota bene: In the "Advanced Search," you may limit your search to retrieving articles in one or more subject areas, including Asian studies, language & literature, and folklore.
MLA International BibliographyConsists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.