Introduction
This guide provides information about selected electronic and print resources that are useful for researching veterans' rights.
The main focus is on benefits advocacy, along with remedies related to military discharge and military records, but selected additional material is included in other relevant areas.
Getting Started
Lexis and Westlaw (HLS only - login credentials required) both have topic areas dedicated to veterans and/or military law with relevant primary and secondary sources.
LEXIS
On the Lexis+ Topic: Military & Veterans Law page, click Veterans to view materials (cases, statutes, secondary sources, administrative materials and more) on the following topics:
- Appeals and Review
- Includes decisions from the US Board of Veterans Appeals and the US Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
- General Benefits
- Readjustment & Related Benefits
Practice-Related Materials:
- Servicemember and Veterans Rights (Matthew Bender)
- Veterans Benefits Manual (National Veterans Legal Service Program)
WESTLAW
On the Practice Areas page, select Military Law to see relevant materials
Decisions and Opinions
- U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims Cases
- VA: Board of Veterans Appeals Decision
- VA: General Counsel Opinions
Practice-Related Materials
Primary Sources and Historical Documents
Veterans interact with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) for receipt of benefits and services, as well as with the Department of Defense for claims involving discharge from military service. The first point of recourse for a dispute with an agency determination is administrative; thus advocacy for veterans generally begins before a federal agency tribunal.
In general, litigation in the federal courts is only available after the entire administrative tribunals process has been exhausted and there is a final agency decision. Appeals are typically taken to the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims or the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.
Congress has enacted many laws providing for and/or protecting veterans benefits, and authority to create regulations to carry out these laws is typically delegated to the VA. Look to the United States Code and the Code of Federal Regulations respectively for statutes and regulations.
On the state level, the Department of Veterans' Services administers benefits for Massachusetts. Appeals are taken to the Massachusetts Division of Administrative Law Appeals and, if necessary, to the court system. The Massachusetts General Laws and the Code of Massachusetts Regulations contain various statutes and regulations governing availability, eligibility and application of benefits.
Use the dropdown menu below to learn more about finding administrative decisions, regulations, cases, and statutes.
Federal Administrative Agencies
Depending on the case, the agency involved will be the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the U.S. Department of Defense.
Department of Veterans Affairs
The United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) administers benefits-related services for veterans:
- The Veterans Health Administration (VHA) provides healthcare services and benefits and operates VA hospitals.
- The Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA) provides financial and other benefits to veterans, including the following:
VA benefits and services are generally only available to veterans that were discharged from service under "other than dishonorable conditions," although the VA can make a determination that expands this availability to those who received certain types of dishonorable discharges. For more information on this topic, visit https://www.benefits.va.gov/benefits/character_of_discharge.asp.
The M21-1 Adjudication Procedures Manual (eBook from the VA website) provides information about eligibility for military benefits, claimant's rights, and the VA's procedures for examinations, authorizations, and more.
VA Decision Reviews and Appeals
A veteran who disagrees with a benefits-related decision issued by the VA has three options for getting the decision reviewed:
- Filing a supplemental claim
- Requesting a higher-level review by a senior reviewer
- Appealing to Board of Veterans' Appeals for a hearing before a Veterans Law Judge (only after the other options are exhausted)
VA: Board of Veterans Appeals Decisions (via Westlaw - HLS only; login credentials required)
VA: General Counsel Opinions (via Westlaw - HLS only; login credentials required)
Department of Defense
The Department of Defense (DOD) handles veterans' claims related to their discharge from military service. These types of claims primarily involve discharge upgrades and corrections, which may impact the availability and amount of benefits a veteran can receive from the VA. Instructions for applying for a discharge upgrade are available at https://www.va.gov/discharge-upgrade-instructions/.
The DOD organizations responsible for handling these claims include Boards for the Correction of Military Records (BCMR) and Discharge Review Boards (DRB). These boards are in place for each branch of the military.
Federal Courts
If administrative remedies are insufficient to resolve a dispute - and there has been a final agency decision - appeals may be taken to the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims or the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.
The U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims is a court of record. It was established in 1988 as the U.S. Court of Veterans Appeals, and renamed as the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims in 1999. It has exclusive jurisdiction over decisions of the Board of Veterans' Appeals. Decisions may come from a single judge or a panel of judges, and those issued by the full panel of judges are published in the Veterans Appeals Reporter.
- Opinions and orders from 2010 to present are available from the court's website, as are archived cases back to 1989.
- CAVC cases 1989-present (via Westlaw - HLS only; login credentials required)
The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit is an Article III court created in 1982, and is one of the thirteen Circuit Courts of Appeals. It has nationwide jurisdiction of multiple areas, including veterans claims. The court has limited jurisdiction to review decisions from the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims.
- Opinions and select orders from October 2004 are available from the court's website. Select "CAVC" from the dropdown menu under origin to see the benefits cases coming from the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims.
- CAFC cases (via Westlaw - HLS only; login credentials required)
Federal Legislation
Federal laws pertinent to veterans and the military may be found under various sections of the United States Code, mostly under Title 38: Veterans' Benefits, and Title 50: War and National Defense.
Military and Veterans Law Statutes and Legislation (LEXIS)
Military Law Statutes and Court Rules (WESTLAW)
Some of the major legislation includes the following:
Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA)
The Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) is a 1994 law that protects military service members and veterans from employment discrimination based on their service, and allows them to regain their civilian jobs after return from duty. It is codified at 38 USCA § 4301 et seq.
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA)
The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) is codified at 50 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et seq. Signed into law in 2003, its purpose is to suspend or postpone certain civil obligations to allow the service member to focus on their military duties. Among the protections SCRA allows are protection from eviction, mortgage payment relief, termination of automobile and residential leases, stays of judicial proceedings, and interest rate caps.
Honoring our PACT Act
The Sergeant First Class (SFC) Heath Robinson Honoring our Promise to Address Comprehensive Toxics (PACT) Act is a recent law (August 2022) that expands and extends eligibility for VA health care for Veterans with toxic exposures during military service. It appears in the U.S. Code in various sections of Title 38.
Massachusetts Agencies and Courts
The Massachusetts Department of Veterans' Services (DVS) administers support services and emergency financial assistance for veterans in the state.
Appeals of agency decisions, including those issued by the DVS, are heard by the Massachusetts Division of Administrative Law Appeals (DALA), and, if necessary, the Massachusetts Superior Court.
Massachusetts Legislation
Massachusetts' laws concerning veterans and the military are contained in various parts of the Massachusetts General Laws, but mostly in Title XVII: Public Welfare and Title V: Militia.
Look to Chapter 115 of the Massachusetts General Laws for laws on Veterans Benefits.
- For annotations and additional editorial content, see Massachusetts General Laws Annotated - Ch. 115: Veterans Benefits (WESTLAW - HLS only, login credentials required), and Annotated Laws of Massachusetts - Chapter 115 (LEXIS - HLS only, login credentials required)
Chapter 33 - Militia discusses rights under USERRA and SCRA, military roles, and military discharge among other topics and Chapter 33a contains the Massachusetts Code of Military Justice
- For annotations and additional editorial content, see Massachusetts General Laws Annotated - Title V - Militia (WESTLAW - HLS only, login credentials required), and Annotated Laws of Massachusetts - Chapter 33 and Chapter 33a (LEXIS - HLS only, login credentials required).
Secondary Sources: Books, Articles, Websites and Databases
Books
Books and e-books may be found through the HOLLIS catalog as well as through various databases. Use the dropdown menu below to see selected texts organized in the following categories:
- Veterans Benefits
- Background Reading and Primers
- Handbooks, Manuals and Advocacy Guides
Click on the "i" icon for the publishers' descriptions
Veterans' Benefits
Veterans Benefits: A Legal Research Guide by
This research guide covers the broad topic of benefits available to military veterans by providing information on benefits covering education, health, disability compensation, employment protection and preference, taxes and lending, and housing loans. It also touches on state law and programs as well as listing secondary sources, websites, and data and statistics.--Publisher.
Call Number: Harvard Law School Library GEN KF7709 .C65 2017xISBN: 9780837740485Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Veteran Care and Services by
 The public services and care being provided to our veteran citizens are rapidly changing due to the increasing number of veterans that live in our cities. There are more veteran citizens now living in America than ever before, and the veteran population is becoming ever more diverse. For this reason, cities throughout our nation are expanding their public services in scope and scale, as well as enhancing the quality of existing services. This volume documents these rapid developments in order to help our veteran citizens and supporting communities understand the evolving, dynamic, and innovative services and care that are increasingly available to them.
Call Number: Harvard Kennedy School GEN UB357 .V35 2020ISBN: 9781476673264Publication Date: 2020-01-07
The Veteran's Survival Guide: How to File and Collect on VA Claims by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781597973137Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Veterans Benefits Manual by Call Number: Harvard Law School Library KF7745 .V47 (Latest edition on Reserve; earlier at Harvard Depository)Publication Date: 1999 ed.-
- Elderlaw: Advocacy for the Aging - Chapter 21: Veterans' BenefitsWestlaw login credentials required - Introduces the VA system and discusses eligibility and benefits, focusing on veterans aged 65 and older.
Background Reading and Primers
American Military Life in the 21st Century [2 Volumes] by
A comprehensive guide to the lives and experiences of military service members, veterans, and their families in the United States today, with special emphasis given to those of the post-9/11 era. This reference work provides detailed information on the issues U.S. service members face both stateside and during deployments overseas. Issues covered include relations with family; substance use; housing; educational and job training opportunities; post-traumatic stress disorder and other health issues; and experiences of women, sexual minorities, and ethnic/racial minorities in the armed services. This set also examines major issues related to military service for people close to the men and women who serve our country, such as spouses or partners, children, and parents grappling with such issues as single parenthood during deployment and bereavement at the loss of a loved one. Finally, this set is a valuable resource for people seeking a greater understanding of the issues that confront some military service members and veterans, from chronic health problems to economic vulnerability to suicide to incarceration. The two volumes are written in a comprehensive yet succinct and accessible style by experts familiar with the latest trends and findings. Providers readers with a current understanding of the experiences of U.S. service members, veterans, and their families in the post-9/11 era of combat operations in Iraq and Afghanistan Examines issues pertinent to minority populations in the military and delineates health and mental health issues that affect all combat service members, summarizing evidence-based interventions and access to care Provides firsthand perspectives and experiences of military-connected families and children Analyzes societal costs and supports for building military-civilian community connections, including in the transition
Call Number: Widener Library WID-LC UA23 .A661475 2018ISBN: 9781440855184Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Our Veterans : Winners, Losers, Friends, and Enemies on the new terrain of veterans affairs by
In Our Veterans, Suzanne Gordon, Steve Early, and Jasper Craven explore the physical, emotional, social, economic, and psychological impact of military service and the problems that veterans face when they return to civilian life. The authors critically examine the role of advocacy organizations, philanthropies, corporations, and politicians who purport to be “pro-veteran.” They describe the ongoing debate about the cost, quality, and effectiveness of healthcare provided or outsourced by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). They also examine generational divisions and political tensions among veterans, as revealed in the tumultuous events of 2020, from Black Lives Matter protests to the Trump-Biden presidential contest. Frank and revealing, Our Veterans proposes a new agenda for veterans affairs linking service provision to veterans to the quest for broader social programs benefiting all Americans.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781478023142Publication Date: 2022
A Nation of Veterans by
A Nation of Veterans examines how the United States created the world's most generous system of veterans' benefits. Though we often see former service members as an especially deserving group, the book shows that veterans had to wage a fierce political battle to obtain and then defend their advantages against criticism from liberals and conservatives alike. They succeeded in securing their privileged status in public policy only by rallying behind powerful interest groups, including the Veterans of Foreign Wars, the Disabled American Veterans, and the American Legion. In the process, veterans formed one of the most powerful movements of the early and mid-twentieth century, though one that we still know comparatively little about. In examining how the veterans' movement inscribed martial citizenship onto American law, politics, and culture, A Nation of Veterans offers a new history of the U.S. welfare state that highlights its longstanding connection with warfare. It shows how a predominantly white and male group such as military veterans was at the center of social policy debates in the interwar and postwar period and how women and veterans of color were often discriminated against or denied access to their benefits. It moves beyond the traditional focus on the 1944 G.I. Bill to examine other important benefits like pensions, civil service preference, and hospitals. The book also examines multiple generations of veterans, by shedding light on how former service members from both world wars as well as Korea and the Cold War interacted with each other. This more complete picture of veterans' politics helps us understand the deep roots of the military welfare state in the United States today.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781512823158Publication Date: 2022-09-20
The GI Bill by
On rare occasions in American history, Congress enacts a measure so astute, so far-reaching, so revolutionary, it enters the language as a metaphor. The Marshall Plan comes to mind, as does the Civil Rights Act. But perhaps none resonates in the American imagination like the G.I. Bill.In a brilliant addition to Oxford's acclaimed Pivotal Moments in American History series, historians Glenn C. Altschuler and Stuart M. Blumin offer a compelling and often surprising account of the G.I. Bill and its sweeping and decisive impact on American life. Formally known as the Serviceman'sReadjustment Act of 1944, it was far from an obvious, straightforward piece of legislation, but resulted from tense political maneuvering and complex negotiations. As Altschuler and Blumin show, an unlikely coalition emerged to shape and pass the bill, bringing together both New Deal Democrats andconservatives who had vehemently opposed Roosevelt's social-welfare agenda. For the first time in American history returning soldiers were not only supported, but enabled to pursue success--a revolution in America's policy towards its veterans.Once enacted, the G.I. Bill had far-reaching consequences. By providing job training, unemployment compensation, housing loans, and tuition assistance, it allowed millions of Americans to fulfill long-held dreams of social mobility, reshaping the national landscape. The huge influx of veteransand federal money transformed the modern university and the surge in single home ownership vastly expanded America's suburbs. Perhaps most important, as Peter Drucker noted, the G.I. Bill "signaled the shift to the knowledge society." The authors highlight unusual or unexpected features of thelaw--its color blindness, the frankly sexist thinking behind it, and its consequent influence on race and gender relations. Not least important, Altschuler and Blumin illuminate its role in individual lives whose stories they weave into this thoughtful account.Written with insight and narrative verve by two leading historians, The G.I. Bill makes a major contribution to the scholarship of postwar America.
Call Number: Widener Library WID-LC UB357 .A65 2009ISBN: 9780195182286Publication Date: 2009-06-02
The Civilian Lives of U. S. Veterans [2 Volumes] by
In this book, 50 experts study the lives of U.S. veterans at work, at home, and in American society as they navigate issues regarding health, gender, public service, substance abuse, and homelessness. The aftermath of modern war includes a population of veterans whose needs last for many decades--far longer than the war itself. This in-depth study looks at life after the military, considering the dual conundrum of a population benefiting from the perks of their duty, yet continuing to deal with trauma resulting from their service, and of former servicemen and servicewomen trying to fit into civilian life--in a system designed to keep them separate. Through two comprehensive volumes, essays shed light on more than 30 topics involving or affecting former servicemen and servicewomen, offering a blueprint for the formal study of U.S. veterans in the future. Contributions from dozens of experts in the field of military science cover such issues as unemployment, homelessness, disability, access to higher education, health, media portrayal, criminal justice, substance abuse, guns, suicide, and politics. Through information gleaned from surveys, interviews, participant observations, secondary analyses, and content analyses, the chapters reveal how veterans are able to successfully contribute to civilian life and show how the American workforce can benefit from their unique set of skills. Considers the changing demographics of U.S. veterans as compared to previous generations of military personnel Shows the impact that veterans are having on federal, state, and local government organizations Describes how servicemembers transition from active duty to veteran status Includes cross references for ease of use
Call Number: Widener Library WID-LC UB357 .C58 2017ISBN: 9781440842788Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Handbooks, Manuals and Advocacy Guides
VA Handbook for Veterans and Advocates by
VA Handbook for Veterans and Advocates was written by a service-connected combat veteran and licensed attorney for fellow veterans and advocates who want to file a claim with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs ("VA") for disability compensation, health care and other benefits. Advocates and family members will also find it useful. The Handbook provides an A-to-Z explanation of the claims process, from gathering records and speaking with accredited individuals to filing a claim for benefits and appealing improper denials. It explains the hierarchy of veterans law, how to understand and apply decisions from the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, the significance of the M21-1 Manual, and more. VA Handbook also breaks down the modernized appeals system that went into effect in February 2019, with a detailed look at each option that is now available to veterans in the updated appeals process. It should be required reading for all veterans and advocates. If you are going to file a claim for VA benefits, get VA Handbook for Veterans and Advocates.
Call Number: Harvard Law School Library GEN UB373 .M36 2021ISBN: 9781665504218Publication Date: 2020-11-29- Veterans Benefits Manual by Call Number: Harvard Law School Library KF7745 .V47 (Latest edition on Reserve; earlier at Harvard Depository)Publication Date: 1999 ed.-Also available online via Lexis. See link below.
Military Discharge Upgrade Legal Practice Manual by
The landmark guide, written by attorneys from the Legal Services Center of Harvard Law School's Veterans Legal Clinic, Connecticut Veterans Legal Center and other legal experts in the field, will help veterans with discharges resulting from PTSD, military sexual trauma or discrimination based on race, gender and sexual orientation correct unjust and stigmatizing discharges, and qualify for health care, education and other benefits.Drawn from the expertise of practitioners in the field, the manual covers fact investigation, legal research and case strategy in advocating for veterans in discharge upgrade petitions to military review boards. Every stage of representation receives detailed attention, from initial client intake to administrative proceedings to federal court review. Among the topics covered are: - Identifying procedural errors in the military discharge process;- Finding inequities and injustices in the discharge;- Compiling and developing evidence;- Crafting arguments to support the relief sought;- Presenting a compelling narrative to the tribunal; - Framing and preserving legal issues for review to an appellate court;- Pursuing remedies through the Department of Veterans Affairs Character of Discharge Determination process.WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK: "This book represents in every way the intent of my 2014 PTSD memo instructing a review of less-than-honorable discharges. I hope it will help grow the field of discharge upgrade advocacy so all veterans with unjust or erroneous discharges will have their service to our country recognized. We owe every veteran nothing less." -- Chuck Hagel, secretary of defense (2013-15); U.S. senator (1997-2009); Vietnam veteran "Unfavorable discharges can initiate a downward spiral that can have devastating effects on an individual's life. This manual includes numerous advocacy tips and invaluable references that will help users--including those with no military experience--to effectively help clients who have served the nation." -- Will A. Gunn, Legal Services Corporation general counsel; general counsel for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (2009-14); U.S. Air Force veteran "In 1986, anti-LGBTQ policies forced me to resign my commission from the U.S. Army. Since then, I have advocated to end the Department of Defense's discriminatory policies, and while the military is now more inclusive, too many veterans remain stigmatized by vestiges of discrimination in the form of less-than-honorable discharges and other pejorative labels. This manual provides advocates with the tools necessary to remove these enduring injustices." -- Halee F. Weinstein, district administrative judge, District Court of Maryland, District 1, Baltimore City; presiding judge founder, Baltimore City Veterans Treatment Court; U.S. Army veteran "For a long time now, I felt that veterans have been getting a raw deal, sacrificing and coming home with bad papers. I commend the authors and legal aid practitioners that provide services to veterans. This book will help more veterans throughout the country get legal assistance and fight the injustices of a bad discharge." -- Conley Monk, co-founder and director, National Veterans Council for Legal Redress; Vietnam veteran
Call Number: Harvard Law School Library Reserve KF7272 .K89 2021ISBN: 9781641058919Publication Date: 2021-11-11
- Servicemember and Veterans RightsLexis login credentials required - A comprehensive practice guide to legal issues encountered by servicemembers. Contains chapters on USERRA, veterans benefits, military family law, veteran mental health, military discharge upgrades and more.
- Veterans Benefits ManualLexis login credentials required - This exhaustive manual is an indispensable guide for advocates who help veterans and their families obtain benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs. User-friendly, well-indexed, and packed with practical information, it includes sample forms and briefs, flowcharts, checklists, citations to legal authorities, and other documents designed to streamline the claims process and save you and your veteran client valuable time. Written by practicing lawyers at the National Veterans Legal Services Program.
- Veterans Rights and BenefitsWestlaw login credentials required - Practitioners' guide with chapters on the role and function of the VA, health care benefits, disability compensation and benefits, education, home financing, burial rights and more.
- Veterans -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
- Veterans -- Services for -- United States
- Veterans -- Medical care -- United States
- Veterans -- Employment -- United States
- Veteran reintegration -- United States
- Veterans -- United States -- Social conditions
- Military pensions -- Law and legislation -- United States
Journal Articles
Articles about veterans' issues and military law may appear in any law journal, but there are some that specialize in this area. For example:
- Veterans Law Review (contains vols.1-8, 2009-2016)
- Military Law Review (contains vols. 1-229#1-2, 1958-2021)
- Army Lawyer (The Judge Advocate General's Legal Center and School) (contains vols. 1971-2022#1)
- Naval Law Review (also published as JAG Journal, Naval Justice School, Office of the Judge Advocate General of the Navy) (contains vols. 14-66, 1947-2020)
Selected recent articles on veterans' law:
- Review of Veterans Law Decisions of the Federal Circuit, 2021 Edition by Angela Drake, Yelena Duterte and Stacie-Rae Simcox, American University Law Review (2021)
- Representing Veterans by Jennifer D. Oliva, SMU Law Review Forum (2020).
- Thirty Years of Veterans Law: Welcome to the Wild West by Stacey-Rae Simcox, University of Kansas Law Review (2019).
Links above are to the Law Journal Library in HeinOnline. Search for other publications via the database link below.
- Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)Access via HarvardKey.
Full-text, page image access to law reviews and journals. Coverage begins with a journal’s first volume but does not usually include its most recent issues. Use the HeinOnline ScholarCheck citator to locate bar journals and law reviews that cite an article.
Westlaw and Lexis also have a good collection of law review and law journal articles. For interdisciplinary research in such areas as health, psychology, history, politics and economics, consult JSTOR.
- Military and Veterans Law Journals - LexisFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Military Law Reviews and Journals - WestlawFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- JSTORAccess via HarvardKey.
Full-text, page image access to more than 200 academic journals covering a very wide range of disciplines. JSTOR allows browsing by issue and full-text searching by discipline, by individual titles, or of the entire collection. Coverage of a journal begins with its first volume. However, current volumes may not be available.
Websites and Databases
- Veterans Law LibraryA "comprehensive collection of materials relating to the veterans benefit adjudication process", this research guide tracks recent developments in the courts alongside legislative and regulatory changes. Selected materials on Agent Orange, Gulf War and PTSD claims are included.
- Massachusetts Law About VeteransA compilation of primary and secondary source recommendations from the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries.
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) ReportsThe Congressional Research Service "serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress." Consult one of CRS's many reports on veterans' benefits, including:
- Veterans' benefits: pension benefit programs
- Veterans' benefits: federal employment assistance
- Veterans' benefits: the impact of military discharges on basic eligibility
Resources for Veterans
Multiple resources exist on the federal and state levels to help connect veterans and their family members with richly-deserved benefits and services, including education and job training, healthcare, mental health and counseling, housing, financial, and legal assistance.
The primary benefits administrators and aggregators of information are as follows:
Federal
- U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) - Veterans Benefits Administration
- And see also the VA's main page
Massachusetts
- Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Veterans' Services (EOVS)
- And see also the MASSVETS Advisor page to search for benefits and services
Some category-specific recommendations are included below. Also see this guide's page on Veterans' Advocates and Organizations for additional help.
Education and Training
Federal
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs offers education benefits for veterans, service members, qualified family members or survivors. Find information on the GI Bill, Post-911 GI Bill, Montgomery GI Bill, VEAP (Veterans Education Assistance Program) and more to help pay for college, graduate school or training programs.
- Website: VA Education and Training Benefits information page (va.gov)
- Website: Veterans Benefits Administration Education and Training page (benefits.va.gov)
Massachusetts
Tuition waivers may be available to veterans or active members of the armed forces stationed in Massachusetts under the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education's Categorical Tuition Waiver.
Additionally, veterans and members of the Massachusetts National Guard may qualify for tuition and/or fee waivers at state schools, colleges and universities (contact the Veterans' Representative at the particular college/university for further information and to apply).
Healthcare
If a veteran has a less-than-honorable discharge, it may be more difficult to access VA benefits. This guide from the Veterans Legal Services and the Veterans Legal Clinic at the Legal Services Center of Harvard Law School offers advice:
Veterans' Advocates and Organizations
WilmerHale Legal Services Center of Harvard Law School - Veterans Law Unit
The Veterans Law Unit (VLU) is a part of the WilmerHale Legal Services Center, a general practice community law office in Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts. The VLU's Veterans Legal Clinic represents veterans and their family members who otherwise do not have access to attorney representation with legal matters including veterans' benefits cases; access to VA (and other) healthcare; discharge upgrades and correction of military records; and estate planning. Second and third-year Harvard Law students work alongside experienced attorneys/clinical instructors to advise clients.
Within the Veterans Law Unit, the Veterans Law and Disability Benefits Clinic works specifically on matters involving access to Massachusetts Veterans' Services Benefits, VA benefits and VA healthcare.
National Organization of Veterans' Advocates
National Organization of Veterans' Advocates (NOVA) is a not-for-profit organization incorporated in 1993 in Washington, DC, consisting of attorneys and other members who advocate for disabled veterans. NOVA offers conferences and trainings for its members, and helps connect interested veterans with attorneys throughout the country that can help appeal a VA disability claim or represent them before the VA, the Board of Veterans' Appeals, or the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims.
National Veterans Legal Services Program
National Veterans Legal Services Program (NVLSP) is a non-profit organization formed in 1981 to advocate for disability benefits for veterans and active duty personnel. NVLSP's "Lawyers Serving Warriors Program" offers pro-bono legal help with discharge upgrades, combat related special compensation, correction of military records and more.
Statewide Advocacy for Veterans' Empowerment (SAVE) Program
Administered by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Veterans' Services, "SAVE is a peer outreach program that connects veterans with peers to help them access benefits, services, and supports, and support their overall mental health." It advocates for veterans who "are not able to obtain the benefits they have earned due to institutional or personal barriers." It works closely and in collaboration with the Massachusetts National Guard.
Massachusetts Women Veterans' Network
Created by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Veterans Services, the Women Veterans' Network is the "central resource for Women Veterans in Massachusetts" aimed at connecting women who served in the military with benefits they earned.
Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims Bar Association
The Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims Bar Association is a non-profit organization "created to improve and facilitate the administration of justice in the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims". It connects attorneys working in the area of veterans law with educational and professional networking opportunities, and also publishes the Veterans Law Journal.
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class
Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728
Credit
Credit
Special thanks to Jennifer Allison, Research Librarian, for her contributions to the initial version of this guide.