Visiting Researchers to Harvard Library

Welcome to Harvard! This guide will help you navigate on-site access to Harvard Library collections and resources, as well as our extensive open-access online resources.

Visitor Access

Visiting researchers are researchers who have obtained a library access card. This includes faculty, staff and students from other institutions as well as individuals who are not otherwise affiliated with Harvard. 

Find information on Borrowing and Access cards, special collections access, and public events, exhibits, and programming on the Harvard Library Visitor Access page.

Harvard Library Patron Agreement

The Harvard Library Patron Agreement applies to everyone who enters library buildings and uses Harvard library collections.

 

 

Special Collections

Rare and unique items available for scanning or scheduled visits. 

• Find full details and instructions on How to Use Harvard Library's Special Collections and Archives
• Anyone can create an account and use HOLLIS Special Request to consult manuscripts, archives, and rare books.
• To visit a collection in person, check with the holding library for more information. You may need a registration card in addition to your library pass. Be prepared to present a government-issued ID.

Other Harvard Library Collections

• HOLLIS (Library Catalog) searches across Harvard Library collections.
  • Anyone can access:
    • Library Catalog records (bibliographic information about Harvard Library collections)
    • ONLINE ACCESS links to public domain and Open Access (OA) material
    • READ ONLINE (1-hour loan) links - requires free account with the Internet Archive's Open Library
  • Access to full-text and other e-resources may be restricted to current Harvard students, staff, and faculty
• Explore collections to discover more about the breadth and variety of Harvard's library collections

Databases & E-Resources

Visiting researchers can access HarvardKey-restricted resources if they are on a library computer. This includes most licensed databases and ONLINE ACCESS links in HOLLIS, regardless of your affiliation. We recommend visiting Widener for this purpose. Instructions for logging on to a Widener computer.

Free online resources

• CURIOsity - curated digital collections from Harvard Library
• DASH - Harvard's institutional repository
• "Open Access" filter - in HOLLIS and many other search tools
• List of top open access resources (on our page for alums) - there are many more across the web

General collections (browse the shelves and find space to work)

Visit a library

• Use Find a Space to explore a map of library locations, preview library spaces, and search for specific amenities.
• Use Locations & Hours to learn more about the scope and specialties of Harvard's many different libraries.
• Present your visiting researcher pass to staff at the library entrance - your pass may be a yellow card, digital pass, or Harvard ID.

Exceptions

• Lamont Library is closed to visiting researchers. Request Lamont Gov Docs and Microforms for Use in Widener Reading Room
• Countway Library is closed to visiting researchers Sunday-Friday. Visit Who Can Use Countway? for information about Saturday visitor access.

Browse the shelves

Most of Harvard Library's general collections are open stack. This means that you can browse the shelves where the books are kept.

Offsite materials must be delivered to campus, where they can be consulted in the reading room. Please contact the relevant owning library for instructions on how visiting researchers can request offsite materials. For offsite materials in Widener's collections, visiting researchers can go to Room 150 (Widener Reading Room) to submit requests. Once requested, materials typically arrive the next business day.

Visiting researchers whose library access cards do not include access to the Widener stacks may submit requests for onsite materials in Room 150.

Log on to a Widener computer

Widener is the best place to use a library computer to access online resources. Log-on procedures at other libraries may vary.

• Select a Guest Computer (identified by the laminated sign affixed to the top right corner of the monitor)
• Select "OK" to get past the warning that data will not be saved
• Ignore the first set of log-on boxes: instead, select "How do I sign in to another domain?” (small, pale link below the log-on boxes)
• Log in on the next screen:
  • A sign affixed to the base of the computer monitor will tell you which username and password to use
  • Alternatively, check for on-screen instructions below the log-on boxes: use hcl-patron as your local user name
  • Double-check the direction of the slashes - the log-on may include a backslash or \
• Log in to OpenAthens before you do anything else
  • Go to https://my.openathens.net/auth
  • You will need to log in to OpenAthens each time you start a new browser session
  • Report any issues logging in to OpenAthens - including HOLLIS links that ask you for a HarvardKey

Printing & Scanning

• Self-serve scanners are available throughout most Harvard libraries. You can send your scans to any email address or save them to a portable USB drive
• Printing in FAS Libraries: Instructions for Special Borrowers and Library Access Card Holders (Alumni, Visiting Researchers, Public Community Members)

"How to do research" - start with these FAQs for different topics. Each includes top database recommendations and contact information for the library expert in that subject.

Ask Us - general help is available via chat, email, and appointment. Visiting researchers are welcome to use these services for help with Harvard Library collections and databases.

Library Research Guides - research strategies and resource recommendations for a variety of specific subject areas.