Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expos 20: Wastelands

A Research Guide

Journal Articles

Use these databases for faster access to more relevant search results. Remember that a general search term, such as hazardous waste sites, may bring up more results than the exact name of a particular wasteland.

Academic Search Premier
Covers all academic subjects, and includes popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Environment Index
Provides citations and abstracts (summaries) for articles on environmental issues.

Sociological Abstracts
Includes citations and abstracts (summaries) from the full range of scholarly literature on sociology and social policy: journal articles, dissertations, books and book chapters, and conference papers.

Anthropology Plus
How have humans made and adapted to wastelands? This database is the world’s most comprehensive, focused index covering publications in anthropology and related disciplines.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Not only the politics of wastelands, but also public policies that are adopted to deal with them: these are some of the topics that you can research using this international database of political scholarship.

But . . . won't I get all the articles I need with HOLLIS?
HOLLIS will give you a lot of articles, but these specialized databases can give you more focused results from specific fields of study.

News Sources

Articles in news media can give you basic facts about a wasteland, its history, and the controversies and movements surrounding it.

Nexis Uni and Factiva
These two databases of newspapers and other news sources include articles from the 1970s until today. For older articles, use the historical New York Times and other newspapers from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Who Has Cited This Source?

Finding the articles that cite a particular source is useful in two ways. First, if you have a good source for your topic, other articles that cite that source may also contribute to your research. Second, seeing how many times an article or book has been cited by others is one way to gauge its authority and influence.

The database Web of Science is designed to help you trace the "citation history" of a book or journal article. Use the Cited Reference Search option. Remember that for journal articles, the "cited work" may be the name of the journal, not the title of the article, and the journal name may have been abbreviated when the article was cited. For example, Environ Manage = Environmental Management.