Scholarly/Professional Periodicals
Anthropology Plus (late 1800s-present)
--Searches the major literature, including journals, in anthropology and related fields
AnthroSource (Late 19th century – ) offers searchable full-text of 28 journals and newsletters published by the American Anthropological Association. Some text drawn from JSTOR. Included journals are also indexed in Anthropology Plus, but Anthrosource allows full text searching. Newsletters in Anthrosource are generally not indexed in Anthropology Plus
JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many anthropological and archaeological journals from their inceptions to about 5 years ago. List of included journals available in Advanced Search.
Business Source Complete (early 20th century- )
EconLit (1969- ) indexes articles from over 525 journals. Since 1987 includes books and dissertations. Earlier years available in print in Index to Economic Journals (1886- ) and Index of economic articles in collective volumes (1960- )
International bibliography of economics (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2004).
GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns.
Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variety of women's studies databases.
Oxford Bibliographies Online are literature guides in numerous humanities and social sciences areas. They offer annotated lists of secondary source articles on particular subjects. Oxford Bibliographies by subject. Within any Subject page (say, African-American Studies), hit Learn more about this subject (left hand column) to see the various bibliographies in this Subject group laid out by general topic.
America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews on North American history.
Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.
Bibliography of British and Irish History is a comprehensive bibliography of books and periodical articles on British and British colonial history. Most historical society publications were excluded.
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it.
JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional. Advanced search is most effective.
Labor History: Digitized Labor Publications (U. Maryland)
The Online Books Page: Labor Unions
Labor Periodicals (Internet Archive)
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- ; full text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean.
Race Relations Abstracts (1975-Present)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS http://www.csa.com/factsheets/pais-set-c.php
JSTOR includes the full text of 119 political science journals from their date of inception to about 5 years ago.
International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.
CAB Abstracts (1910-Present) includes journal articles, conference papers, reports, and books on public health. Worldwide coverage with emphasis on Africa and Latin America.
Global health, 1973-Present
PubMed (1950-Present) covers, usually with abstracts, periodical articles on all areas of medicine.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA (largely 1987- )
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences(1951- ) includes: International bibliography of sociology
Sociological Abstracts (1952-)
Urban Studies Abstracts (1973 - )
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,500 international periodicals on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage begins in the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) and extends to the present.