Europe

Directory: Archive in Europa

Print format directories may be found in the HOLLIS Catalog with searches of the type: “directories and Austria and (archives or archival or libraries)”.

Archives Portal Europe is a Europe-wide search engine for archival collections.

Archives autobiographiques en Europe lists autobiographies and diaries by country.

CENDARI Transnational Archive Directory is a large database of archival descriptions from over 1,000 institutions, European and worldwide. The Directory allows historians to view sources in a rarely seen transnational and comparative view. It is focused on resources on the medieval era and the First World War.

Census of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the United States and Canada, by Seymour de Ricci ; with the assistance of W.J. Wilson. New York : H.W. Wilson, 1935-1940. 3 v.
HOLLIS Record (with online version)
Reprint

Supplement to the census of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the United States and Canada, originated by C.U. Faye ; continued and edited by W.H. Bond. New York : Bibliographical Society of America ; New York, N.Y. : Kraus Reprint [distributor], 1962, 626 p.
HOLLIS Record
Online Version

 

Online Manuscripts Databases and Projects (Consortium of European Research Libraries)

 

Blue Guide to the Archives of Member States' Foreign Ministries and European Union institutions

Early Modern Letters Online is a " is a combined finding aid and editorial interface for basic descriptions of early modern correspondence".

East Central European migrations during the Cold War : a handbook, edited by Anna Mazurkiewicz. Berlin; Boston : De Gruyter Oldenbourg, 2019. 1 online resource (478 pages)
HOLLIS Record with online version 
--Notes on archival repositories in the various countries and abroad.

Guides to European Archives (Columbia)

Historical Research in Europe: A Guide to Archives and Libraries is a searchable database of print and electronic library/archive repository and subject guides. Each record for a printed catalog, repository web site, etc., has standard subject terms.​

Historical Archives of the European Union collects papers of individuals and archives of European organisations concerned with European integration, and copies of documents held in other repositories.

International Institute of Social History

Austria | Belgium | Denmark | France | Germany | Ireland | Italy | Netherlands | Norway | Spain | Sweden | Switzerland | United Kingdom

More Information

Brenneke, Adolf. Archivkunde. 2. vollig neu bearb. und erw. Aufl. Munchen; New Providence: K.G. Saur, 1993.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CD955.B74 1993x Library has: v. 2: Internationale Archivbibliographie
--Lists publications about European repositories and their holdings.

Cook, Chris. Sources in European political history. 3 vols. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire: Macmillan, 1987- .
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC D424.Z99 C66 x, 1987
--Largely lists of personal papers.

Cook, Chris. The Routledge guide to European political archives: sources since 1945. Abingdon, Oxon; NY: Routledge, 2012, 276 p.
Widener | RR 627.21

Guide to the archives of member states' foreign ministries and European Union institutions. 2nd rev. and enl. ed. Luxembourg: Office for Official Publications of the European Communities; Lanham, MD: UNIPUB [distributor], 1996.
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): Ordered--not received; Earlier ed.: Documents (Lamont): Ref CD1001.G87 1989
LOCATION: Law School: ILS Ref Desk CD 1001.G87 1996x

The National Register of Archives, an international perspective: essays in celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the NRA, ed. by Dick Sargent. (Historical research. Special supplement, ISSN 0950-3471 ; no. 13, June 1995) London: University of London, Institute of Historical Research, 1995, 103 p.
--Valuable for backqround, but dated as to online access. Overviews of archival resources in Great Britain, Australia, Canada, the Netherlands, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden

Thomas, Daniel H., ed. The new guide to the diplomatic archives of Western Europe. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1975.
LOCATION: Ctr Eur Studies: Eur 3020.385.5
LOCATION: Ctr Intl Affairs: CD1001.T4 1975
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4101.3.1
--Although focusing on diplomatic history, this book gives valuable overviews.