Essential Library Resources and Services

photo of Irish Celtic Penannular Brooch

The Harvard Library is an organization of more than 70 libraries supporting research throughout Harvard University. You will probably find the Harvard Library portal and these two libraries most helpful for this course:

image of Lamont Library


Lamont Library is the undergraduate library. It's
often the best place to find friendly study spaces
and course-related resources.

photo of Widener library


Widener Library is the largest of Harvard's libraries,
with one of the world's most comprehensive research
collections in the humanities and social sciences.

Visit the Library Resources for Harvard Summer School Students online guide to learn about your access to other libraries on campus.

Library Catalog

Search everything in HOLLIS+

Or, link to HOLLIS+. In addition to searching HOLLIS for books, be sure to check the list of items on reserve for your course, as listed on your course website!

Course Text

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Image of the cover of the Proceedings of the Harvard Celtic Colloquium

Selected Indexes to Journal Articles, Books, and Book Chapters

Tale Type and Motif Indexes


For helpful information about what these indexes are and how to use them, consult this article: In Search of the Folktale

More Indexes

In addition to the above recommended databases and motif indexes, Harvard Library subscribes to thousands of others containing articles, images, sound, data, and more!

Go to the Find Databases and E-Resources menu, pictured below, to select the database that's best for your needs.

  1. Click each tab—Database Name, Keyword, and Subject—to search or browse for a database (note that you're not searching inside the databases yet).
  2. Once you have examined the options in each tab, click on the More info option for the databases of interest to learn more.
  3. Revisit the menu to connect to and search the database of greatest use to you.

Find Databases and E-Resources

Get It! is the term for Harvard Library tools and services that facilitate accessing books and articles.

View the diagram.

How to Get Instant Access Online

  • Search HOLLIS+ and access electronically available material online, immediately.

How to Get Books and Other Media

  • Search HOLLIS+ to see if there is a physical copy available on campus and get it from the shelf or have it delivered (see below).
  • Get the item delivered to your library of choice in 1 to 4 business days (based on availability). To make your request, look for the Request Item link in HOLLIS+. If unavailable, try Borrow Direct below.
  • Use Borrow Direct to search the collections of Ivy+ institutions and have books and other media delivered to your library of choice in 4 business days. Log In to Borrow Direct
  • Still unable to locate what you are looking for? Request items through Interlibrary Loan, and library staff will search libraries around the world to find a copy for you and deliver it in 2 weeks or less. Log In to Interlibrary Loan.

How to Get Articles and Book Chapters

  • Search HOLLIS+ to see if there is a physical copy available on campus and get it from the shelf or have it scanned and delivered (see below).
  • Have a copy of an article or book chapter emailed to you in 1 to 4 business days. To make your request, look for the Scan and Deliver link in HOLLIS+.
  • Still unable to locate what you are looking for? Request articles and book chapters through Interlibrary Loan, and library staff will search libraries around the world to find a copy for you and deliver it in 2 weeks or less. Log In to Interlibrary Loan

Contact Get It!

Email:
Borrow Direct: borrowdirect@harvard.edu
Interlibrary Loan and Scan & Deliver: ill@harvard.edu

Address:
Harvard Library Resource Sharing
1 Harvard Yard, Room G-30
Cambridge, MA 02138

Office Hours:
Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm, except during holidays.

 

Reading Citations

Creating Citations in MLA Style

Integrating Sources into Your Writing

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Citation Management Tools

e-mail iconE-mail a Librarian
asklib@fas.harvard.edu
phone iconCall the Reference Desk at Lamont Library
617-495-2106
 
chat iconAsk Us!/Chat with a Librarian
Ask a Librarian anytime; replies on business days. Use LibChat Monday-Friday, 10am-5pm.

sms icon617-682-9043 (U.S. Only)

person iconRequest a Research Appointment
Harvard affiliates are invited to request an
appointment with a librarian.
HCL logoContact a Harvard College Library Reference Desk
 
Loading