Essential Library Resources and Services

photo of Irish Celtic Penannular Brooch

The Harvard Library is an organization of more than 70 libraries supporting research throughout Harvard University. You will probably find the Harvard Library portal and these two libraries most helpful for this course:

image of Lamont Library


Lamont Library [Through ~July 10: Lamont Library | ~July 11 forward: Lamont Library] is the undergraduate library. It's often the best place to find friendly study spaces and course-related resources.

photo of Widener library


Widener Library [Through ~July 10: Widener Library | ~July 11 forward: Widener Library] is the largest of Harvard's libraries, with one of the world's most comprehensive research collections in the humanities and social sciences.

Visit the Library Resources for Harvard Summer School Students online guide to learn about your access to other libraries on campus.

Library Catalog


Use HOLLIS to find books and other materials. Search Tip – Always log in, and check out these guides:

If an item you find in HOLLIS is located in Widener, you may find it helpful to consult the
Widener Library Call Number Locations Chart.

In addition to searching HOLLIS for books, be sure to check the list of items on reserve for your course, as listed on your 2018 course website!

Course Text

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Selected Indexes to Journal Articles, Books, and Book Chapters

Tale Type and Motif Indexes


In addition to the above databases, which largely index secondary literature, you may also scan indexes to primary sources like folk tales, which are important for the study of Celtic literatures and languages. A “tale type” index categorizes and tracks thematically related types of stories from cultures around the globe, whereas a “motif” index does the same for smaller elements of stories. In some sense, a tale is composed of multiple motifs. For helpful information about what these indexes are and how to use them, consult this article: In Search of the Folktale

More Indexes

In addition to the above recommended databases and motif indexes, Harvard Library subscribes to thousands of other indexes containing articles, images, sound, data, and more!

Go to the Harvard Library Databases to select the index database that's best for your needs.

Finding Articles in HOLLIS

Try searching for the article you want in HOLLIS Everything. Use Personalize to privilege results by discipline. Start a search, limit to articles, and then choose the Personalize button to highlight up to five disciplines. Personalize will reorder your result list for articles (only).
 

screenshot of the "personalize" search refinement option in the HOLLIS catalog

Image of the cover of the Proceedings of the Harvard Celtic Colloquium
 
 

Get It! is the term for Harvard Library tools and services that facilitate accessing books and articles.

From your search results, click on a title and the details will slide into view. Next, look for "Get It," "View Online," or "Find It @ Harvard."

View Online

If you see View Online, it means there is likely an electronic copy available.

View Online does its best to connect many very different library systems. Often, it takes you right to the full-text. Sometimes, it will take you somewhere unexpected. If you end up somewhere that looks like a database and has a search box, try searching there for the title of the item. If in doubt, Ask a Librarian for help tracking down the source.

Find It @ Harvard

If you see "Find It @ Harvard," it means HOLLIS can't tell right away if there is a copy available. Click "Find It @ Harvard" to search our online resources, and then follow the prompts to search the catalog.

Find It @ Harvard does its best to connect different library systems with the information it knows how to use (usually an ISBN or ISSN). If Find It fails, you can often get what you want, either online or in paper form, by examining the citation yourself. For example, if you're looking for an article or book chapter and Find It fails, try searching HOLLIS for the journal or book title.

Pro tip: In the original record, look for "Is part of" to find the title to search for in HOLLIS.

Get It

If you see "Get It," it means the library owns at least one physical copy. (In your results list, you will see "Available" or "Currently unavailable.") Click on a library name to see availability.

Note: if the library holds many volumes, you may need to click "show more items" to see the full list.

If you are going to the shelf

The call number is the most important piece of information. Floor and row numbers are currently unavailable.

Pro tip: you can text yourself a call number. Look for this option in the "Send to" menu.

If you’d like the item delivered

Make sure you are signed in so all of your options will display. Look for: "Request Item," "Scan & Deliver," "Borrow Direct" and "Get It" (for Interlibrary Loan). See Get It for more information about these options.

Contact Get It!

Email:
Borrow Direct: borrowdirect@harvard.edu
Interlibrary Loan and Scan & Deliver: ill@harvard.edu

Address:
Harvard Library Resource Sharing
1 Harvard Yard, Room G-30
Cambridge, MA 02138

Office Hours:
Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm, except during holidays.

Get It diagram

Reading Citations

Creating Citations in MLA Style

Integrating Sources into Your Writing

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Citation Management Tools

“envelope”E-mail:
asklib@fas.harvard.edu
phone iconCall
Lamont Library: 617-495-2106
Widener Library: 617-495-2411
 
chat iconAsk Us!/Chat with a Librarian
Ask a Librarian anytime; replies on business days. During Summer Session, use LibChat M–Th: 10am–6 p.m.; Fri: 10 a.m.–5 p.m.; Sun: 5–6 p.m.

sms iconText
617-682-9043 (U.S. Only)
Text us your questions.

person iconRequest a Research Appointment
Harvard affiliates are invited to request an
appointment with a librarian: [Through ~July 10: Request a Research Appointment; From ~July 11 forward: Find a Specialist]

“desk”Visit
Speak with a librarian in any FAS Library during the hours when the Reference desks are staffed: [Through ~July 10: Contact a Library Reference Desk; From ~July 11 forward: Library Reference Desks]

Loading ...