[FAS] Celt S-110: Research Guide for Introduction to Irish Myth, Folklore, and Music

HOLLIS is the library's main search interface. It includes the Harvard library catalog as well as a huge (and more heterogeneous) collection of citations for a variety of materials, including articles and book chapters. HOLLIS does not search the full-text of books and articles, though you find occasional exceptions.

This text may serve as a reference to original tales. “The chapters are well referenced to original literary sources and to selected modern works.” However, be prepared: “the chapter notes are inconveniently bunched together at the end of the book, and their elaborate contractions necessitate further consultation of a long list of abbreviations in which the bibliography is cast” (quoted from a review in volume 35 of the journal Antiquity, by T.G.E. Powell).

The Irish Texts Society issues annotated editions of texts in Irish with English translations and related commentaries. A selection of these include tales and myths of Ireland. Please sort through the short list of results to identify these, and click on the "Online" link to access them.

Quotation from the preface: “The present work is designed as a supplement to Professor Stith Thompson's Motif-Index of Folk-Literature (6 vols.). Bloomington and Helsinki, 1932ff. It follows Professor Thomp son's method of classification and enumeration, numbers not occurring in Professor Thompson's work being marked with an asterisk. In attempting to fit the motifs of early Irish tradition into Professor Thompson's classification, the compiler, contrary to the preference of some Celticists, has generally identified the aes sidhe and the Tuatha D4 Danann as "fairies," and their dwell ings as "fairyland." He has also sought, with questionable success, to differentiate between "gods" and "fairies." Users of this book are warned against accepting indiscriminately as ancient Celtic divinities all of the personages identified as such by modern scholars. This index is intended primarily for the use of students of folklore and custom and of comparative literature. To this end, the references to early Irish or Hiberno-Latin sources are fre quently supplemented by references to modern scholarly works in which motifs found in Celtic are cited for purposes of com parative study in various fields of literary or cultural history, such as mediaeval romance. A few references to early Welsh documents have also been added, and, though no effort has been made to cover modern Irish folklore, scattered references to that field have also been inserted. To insure as wide usefulness as possible, preference is given to translations contained in books of relatively easy accessibility, and more than one reference is frequently given to different translations of a single motif.” See also: Motif Index, What it Is and What it Does from the British Columbia Folklore Society. To help you understand the citations, the "Bibliography and Abbreviations" section starts on page xv of the print volume (or p. 23 of the scan)..

a classification of narrative elements in folk-tales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. Be aware, this covers folktales worldwide, and is not limited to Ireland.

Antti Aarne's Verzeichnis der Märchentypen (FF communications no. 3) translated into English and enlarged by Stith Thompson. Be aware, this covers folktales worldwide, and is not limited to Ireland.

A multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.

A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research.

Provides current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 35 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work.

A specialist reference tool for scholars and students of Irish language and literature. Contains citations to over 6000 articles from more than 400 different periodical titles, and to over 800 monographs and miscellanies. All material is classified according to author, format of publication, and subject, and it is possible to browse through the contents of the bibliography under each of these headings. References are culled from publications from around the world and no restriction of language has been imposed on their choice.

Produced by the Celtic Studies Association of North America, this bibliography indexes a broad range of materials, including scholarly journal articles relevant to the study of Celtic languages and literatures.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. Nota bene: In the "Advanced Search," you may limit your search to both folklore and Irish studies.

Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.