Research Guides: Magazines at Schlesinger Library: Home

Images from Schlesinger Library

Get Started

Start your research on Magazines held at the Schlesinger Library with this guide. This guide is not a comprehensive listing of titles held at the Library, but a place to start your exploration. The Library's holdings range from high-circulation to small-run titles, and cover topics that connect to the Library's collection strengths. The titles included in this guide were all found through searches conducted in HOLLIS. Search examples include: women's health, gender and sexuality, teenage years/girlhood, fashion, and activism.

Use the menu on the left to view additional material related to this topic.

Please Note

Curious about how to place requests for materials? Consult the Schlesinger Library's guide to requesting materials for detailed instructions and how-to videos.

Many of our collections are stored offsite and/or have access restrictions. Be sure to contact us in advance of your visit.

Magazines in Alphabetical Order

Audrey
Publication Date: 2003 to 2015

An Asian-American women's lifestyle magazine featuring articles on current issues, fashion, dating, and more.

The library holds print issues of this magazine from 2006 to 2015.
Better Homes and Gardens
Publication Date: 1922 to present

A magazine showcasing home improvement ideas and projects, recipes, gardening and entertainment ideas.

The library holds issues on microfilm from 1922 to 1948. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Better Homes and Gardens HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Bitch: feminist response to pop culture
Publication Date: 1996 to 2022

A magazine providing and encouraging an empowered, feminist response to mainstream media and popular culture.

The library holds issues in print at the library from 1996 to 2022 with some issues missing. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Bitch HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Bride's
Publication Date: 1995 to 2019

A bridal magazine with articles on dresses and wedding planning.

The library holds issues in print from 1997 to 2019 as well as issues of previous versions of this title from 1975-1986 and from 1965-1967
Charm
Publication Date: 1915 to 1959

A fashion and beauty magazine for the "business girl" that was absorbed by Glamour in November 1959.

The library holds scattered issues of this magazine in print from 1924, 1927, 1944, 1953, and 1955.
Cosmopolitan
Publication Date: 1886 to present

Originally described as a "first-class family magazine," Cosmopolitan was reborn in July 1965 when Helen Gurley Brown became its first female editor. The magazine addressed women as independent people capable of running their own career and social and sexual lives.

The library holds issues on microfilm from 1930-1992 and issues in print from 1955 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Cosmopolitan HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Essence
Publication Date: 1970 to present

A premiere lifestyle, fashion and beauty magazine for African-American women.

The library has print issues of this magazine from 1970 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Essence HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Fitness
Publication Date: 1992 to 2015

Fitness spotlights workouts, recipes, health and beauty advice, and fitness inspiration.

The library holds print issues of this magazine from 1999 to 2015.
Glamour
Publication Date: 1939 to 2019

Glamour magazine showcases the latest fashion trends, outfit ideas, and hair and makeup how-tos.

The library holds scattered issues of this magazine in print from 1947, 1948, 1952, 1963, 1967, 1972, 1975, 1977, and 1995 to 2019. The library also holds issues on microfilm from 1980-2019. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Glamour HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Godey's Lady's Book, and Ladies' American Magazine
Publication Date: 1830 to 1898

This magazine published American authors and poets, specifically those who wrote wholesome literature, as well as information on dressmaking and fashion plates.

The library holds scattered issues from 1840-1858. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Godey's HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Good Housekeeping
Publication Date: 1885 to present

Good Housekeeping is a source for advice about food, diet, beauty, health, family, and home.

The library holds microfilm issues of this magazine from 1885-2000 and print issues from 1932 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Good Housekeeping HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Harper's Bazaar
Publication Date: 1867 to present

A women’s fashion magazine well known for being sophisticated and elegant.

The library holds issues in print from 1913 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Harper's Bazaar HOLLIS catalog record for details. Issues from 1867-1900 are freely accessible online through Cornell University.
Ladies' Home Journal
Publication Date: 1883 to 2014

A conservative voice for the role of women in society, featuring beauty and fashion tips, relationship advice, and domestic advice. The magazine has been continuously published since 1883 and has the longest running magazine column, entitled "Can this marriage be saved?"

The library holds print issues from 1970 to 2014 and issues on microfilm from 1884 to 2000. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Ladies' Home Journal HOLLIS catalog record for details. Some issues of this resource are freely accessible online through Harvard's Collections Program.
Latina
Publication Date: 1994 to 2017

Latina features lifestyle, entertainment, beauty, fashion, and style trends along with news updates on Latina celebrities and music icons.

The library holds issues from 1997 to 2017.
Lesbian Connection
Publication Date: 1974 to present

A bimonthly magazine that is a free worldwide forum of news, ideas, and information for, by, and about lesbians.

The library holds issues in print from 1974 to the present. This resource is also freely accessible online (1974-1989) through Independent Voices.
Mademoiselle
Publication Date: 1935 to 2001

A magazine giving young women beauty and fashion advice.

The library holds scattered issues in print and on microfilm from 1935-2001.
Martha Stewart Living
Publication Date: 1990 to 2022

A magazine focused on gardening, entertaining, renovating, cooking, collecting and creating.

The library holds print issues from 1991 to 2022.
McCall's
Publication Date: 1873 to 2001

A women's fashion magazine that also featured fiction, editorial, health, beauty, and foreign travel columns.

The library holds scattered issues in print from 1905-2001 and issues on microfilm from 1954-1972.
More
Publication Date: 1997 to 2016

More magazine celebrates women of style and substance with articles on style, health, work, spirituality and relationships.

The library holds issues in print from 1999 to 2016.
Ms.
Publication Date: 1972 to present

A magazine widely known as the first to promote a feminist worldview.

The library holds print issues from 1972 to the present (including a preview issue from 1971) and issues on microfilm from 1972 to 1979.
O: The Oprah Magazine
Publication Date: 2000 to 2020

This magazine focuses on inspiring readers by passing on stories, advice, and self-empowerment tools.

The library holds print issues from 2000 to 2020. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the O: The Oprah Magazine HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Out
Publication Date: 1992 to present

A gay and lesbian perspective on style, entertainment, fashion, the arts, politics, culture, and more.

The library holds print issues from 1994 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Out HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Parents
Publication Date: 1926 to 2022

A magazine offering parenting advice and discussing parenting issues.

The library holds print issues from 1978 to 2022. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Parents HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Redbook
Publication Date: 1903 to 2018

A general interest women's magazine with a focus on fashion and beauty.

The library holds print issues from 1956 to 2018. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Redbook HOLLIS catalog record for details.
SageWoman
Publication Date: 1986 to present

A spiritual magazine that celebrates the inner goddess of every woman.

The library holds print issues from 1986 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the SageWoman HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Sassy
Publication Date: 1988 to 1996

A magazine for teen girls widely considered controversial because of its focus on sex.

The library holds scattered issues in print from 1988 to 1996.
Self
Publication Date: 1979 to 2017

A magazine devoted to women's health and fitness.

The library holds issues in print from 1979 to 2017. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Self HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Seventeen
Publication Date: 1944 to 2019

A magazine devoted to teenage girls and their interests.

The library holds issues in print from 1944 to 2019. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Seventeen HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Shape
Publication Date: 1981 to 2021

A magazine on fitness, weight loss, healthy eating, beauty, and style.

The library holds issues in print from 1991 to 2021. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Shape HOLLIS catalog record for details.
'Teen
Publication Date: 1957 to 2002

A magazine aimed at young girls ages 12-18, discussing topics such as acne, clothes, dating, and family squabbles.

The library holds scattered issues in print from 1997 to 2002.
Teen Vogue
Publication Date: 2001 to 2017

A magazine for teen girls with articles about fashion and beauty.

The library holds print issues from 2006 to 2017. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Teen Vogue HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Vanity Fair
Publication Date: 1913 to present

A magazine for women with a strong focus on fashion.

The library holds issues in print from 1915 to 1936 and 1983 to 2001. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Vanity Fair HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Vogue
Publication Date: 1892 to present

A women's magazine focused on fashion and beauty.

The library holds issues in print from 1916 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Vogue HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Woman's Day
Publication Date: 1937 to present

A magazine that publishes a mix of homemaking advice for the budget-conscious, parenting advice, and other money and time savers.

The library holds issues in print from 1937 to the present. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Woman's Day HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Woman's World
Publication Date: 1980 to present

A magazine advertised for the traditional, family-oriented, working woman.

The library holds issues in print from 1981 to the present and issues on microfilm from 1985 to 1986.
Women's Health
Publication Date: 1986 to present

A magazine on women's health featuring workout routines and healthy eating plans.

The library holds issues in print from 2006 to the present.
Working Mother
Publication Date: 1981 to 2020

A magazine that discusses the concerns of women who are working parents.

The library holds issues in print from 1986 to 2020. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) in multiple databases for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Working Mother HOLLIS catalog record for details.
Working Woman
Publication Date: 1976 to 2001

A magazine geared towards the thoughts and concerns of the working woman.

The library holds issues in print from 1976 to 2001. Online access to this title is available (full text or abstract) for users during an onsite visit or with a valid Harvard ID; see the Working Woman HOLLIS catalog record for details.