This is the "Academic Writing Resources" page of the "Write and Cite" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
My Account
Site Search

Write and Cite   Tags: citation tools, how-to, how_to, writing  

This guide offers information on writing resources, citation style guides, and academic writing expectations and best practices, as well as information on resources related to copyright, fair use, permissions, and open access.
Last Updated: Jul 31, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/gsd/write Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Academic Writing Resources Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Harvard Sites for Writers

Harvard Guide to Using Sources
      Essential guide to using sources in academic writing.
Interrogating Texts
    Useful tips to develop effective reading skills.
 

The Literature Review

The Literature Review guide  from the University of Arizona offer a clear explanation of the literature review in the Social Sciences.

Database search tip: Add the phrase "literature review" to your search to find published literature reviews.

 

Managing Citations

RefWorks (Harvard ID and PIN required)

  • create a searchable database of the books, articles, book chapters, and more that you're using in your research
  • import citations, abstracts, and more from online sources
  • organize notes and attach full text documents
  • share references when you're working on collaborative projects
  • create reference lists in Chicago and other formats
 

Citation Styles and Manuals

Chicago:  This is the citation style most commonly requested by faculty at the GSD for the formatting of cited references in student papers. This guide includes manuscript preparation guidelines, information on style and usage, and detailed explanation of the two Chicago documentation styles: Notes and Bibliography, and Author-Date reference. Please check with your faculty member on the preferred form.

Chicago Manual of Style  (Harvard ID and PIN required): full-text online version of the 16th edition, including Q & A, online tools, and a Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide.

Prefer  the print edition? See the the HOLLIS record for library holdings.


Other citations styles that might be requested include:

MLA (Modern Language Association) for general information see the MLA formatting and writing guide  (Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).

APA (American Psychological Assocation)--often used in the Social Sciences. For general information see the APA formatting and style guide (Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) and  APA Exposed (online tutorial from the Harvard Graduate School of Education).

 

Academic Integrity: Responsible research and writing habits

Central to any academic writing project is crediting (or citing) someone else' words or ideas. The following sites will help you check your understanding of academic writing expectations. Some have quizzes; others include quick tutorials or examples of paraphrasing or summarizing sources, tips on note taking, or managing your writing project.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)" ”Avoiding Plagiarism”
     A useful summary includes tips on how to avoid accidental plagiarism, includes a useful list of what does (and does not) need to be cited, and suggests best practices for research and writing.

Plagiarism Handout: “Theft, Fraud and the Loss of Voice”, from Transition to College Writing, by Keith Hjortshoj (Boston, Bedford/St. Martin, 2001)
     This handout provides a useful summary of the different forms plagiarism can take, offers examples of how to correctly incorporate and cite concepts and phrases from sources, and explains the importance of developing your own voice and perspective to narrate your research.

St. Martins’ Tutorial on Avoiding Plagiarism
     Sections of particular interest on this publisher’s website, accessible to students after a simple registration process, include “How to manage a project”. “Taking notes”, and “Knowing which sources to acknowledge”.

University of Toronto’s How not to Plagiarize
     Concise explanation and useful Q&A with examples of citing and integrating sources.

     

    Need More Help?

    Start at the Services desk during library hours for quick assistance and on-site referrals.

    Ask a Librarian - view answers to frequently asked questions..and submit your own.

    Schedule a Research Consultation: Contact Sarah Dickinson with a brief description of your topic and times you are available to meet.

    Call 617-495-9163

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip