Skip to main content
Banner Image

Beyond Harvard: Public Policy Research as HKS Alumni

What can the HKS Library do for you?

After graduation, the librarians at Harvard Kennedy School Library & Knowledge Services are still here to help. In this guide you will find information about HKS Library Services for Alumni including Academic Search Alumni Edition, a database containing full text scholarly articles, HKS Alumni Library Cards, and links to recommended free sources for articles, data, and other forms of information.

Although we are unable to provide alumni with information from Harvard's subscription databases, we can help you locate the research you need through free resources or provide you with citations for articles or books that you can request through Interlibrary Loan services at you local library.

Access to Free Full-text Articles for Alumni

Visitors, including alumni, can use the two computers in the Library Commons for access to all library resources. Printing for these computers costs $.08/per page and requires payment through Crimson Cash either on a Crimson Cash Card or on a Harvard University ID. Crimson Cash Cards can be purchased and value added to them at the Crimson Cash Value Transfer Station available right outside the HKS Library between the vending machines. Money can be added to the cards or IDs online at https://cash.harvard.edu. 

For remote users Harvard Library now provides access to the following resources using your Harvard Key. Go to For Harvard Alumni for more information.

General:

EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition 
A scholarly collection of journals covering the major areas of academic research.
Note: Not all titles are available in full text.

JSTOR
Full-text coverage of core scholarly journals.
Note: Current issues are available for some, but not most, journals in JSTOR.

Oxford English Dictionary
Widely regarded as the authoritative English language dictionary. Online edition is updated regularly.

Other Resources:

ABI/Inform Complete
Largely full-text database combining scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers and more in business and management, including economic conditions, accounting and finance.
Note: The Wall Street Journal is not available in this collection.

American Medical Association Journals
Full text access to the current issues and archives of JAMA, JAMA Internal Medicine, and all of the other JAMA journals.

Annual Reviews
Full-text of critical reviews of the research literature in disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical and social sciences, including economics.

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge Companions Online is an eBook series providing introductions to major writers, philosophers, artists and musicians.

Cambridge Histories Online is an eBook series of works published since 1960 on general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religion.

CQ Press Library includes the CQ Almanac, Voting and Elections Collection, and a broad range of local and state data.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Full text of legal periodicals from all 50 states in the U.S. and from many other countries. All charts, graphs, photographs and footnotes are included.

Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical and Life Science Collection
Online audio-visual seminars on current topics in medicine and the basic sciences including genetics, drug discovery, microbiology and virology, cancer, and more, presented by faculty from leading universities and research centers.

JSTOR
Full-text coverage of core scholarly journals.
Note: Current issues are available for some, but not most, journals in JSTOR.

Oxford

Oxford Art Online
The access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Covering all periods of art, content includes wide ranging encyclopedia essays, biographies, images, definitions of art terms, bibliographies, and research guides.

Oxford English Dictionary
Widely regarded as the authoritative English language dictionary. Online edition is updated regularly.

Oxford Music Online
The access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.

Plunkett Research
Database of company and industry information, including market research and industry trends, industry statistics, company profiles, and downloadable tables. Especially useful for industries that are challenging to research such as "green technologies."

Project Muse — Standard Journal Collection 
Full text of scholarly journals published by university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and the social sciences.

Sage

Sage Journals provides the full text of journals in the social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and materials sciences and engineering.

Sage Research Methods includes case studies, articles and other materials on research methods.

 

Access to Library Collections

 

Research Guides

Be sure to take a look at our other research guides. These guides include links to websites that are freely available to all researchers.