Skip to main content

Research Guide for Edmund J. Safra Center for Ethics Fellows-in-Residence

Welcome!

The purpose of this guide is to direct you to useful library research resources and services.  If you have questions about this guide or about doing research in the Harvard libraries, we will be happy to hear from you.

Selected Harvard Libraries and Collections

This is a selective list of libraries at Harvard with collections most relevant to this course:

  • Widener Library, the largest research library at Harvard with collections focused on humanities and social sciences;
  • Harvard Law School Library, with superb collections in U.S. and international law;
  • Kennedy School Library, with collections supporting study at the John F. Kennedy School of Government;
  • Lamont Library, the general undergraduate library, which also houses the Government Documents and Microforms collections.

To locate additional libraries, please consult the Find a Library page. For library hours, please visit the All Library Hours page of the Harvard Libraries site.

Helpful Services & Tools

  • Harvard Library Portal is the home of the Harvard Library online.
  • HOLLIS+ searches most Harvard Library resources.
  • Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.
  • Harvard LibX is a browser add-on that allows you to link quickly from content found on the web to access via the Harvard Library’s catalog, e-journals and e-resources.
  • Scan & Deliver is a free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff. 
  • Borrow Direct enables you to borrow books, not currently available at Harvard, from a small network of libraries. Items are usually delivered within four days.
  • Interlibrary Loan lets you borrow articles, books or other items from a larger network of libraries. It takes an average of two weeks to receive requested items.
  • Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly. Harvard Guide to Using Sources provides information about using and citing sources in your academic work.
  • Harvard Library Research Guides provide information about and strategies for using the Library's electronic and print collections, citation tools and more.