Skip to main content

Research Guide for Edmund J. Safra Center for Ethics Fellows-in-Residence


Below, we've identified and briefly described some of your options for accessing news through Harvard Library subscriptions.You can get to these resources through the HOLLIS catalog, but the fastest route is via the Databases page, linked from the Harvard Library portal. Simply type the name of the database in the title box at the top of the screen.

If you are off-campus (or in a non-library location), you will be asked to "authenticate" (i.e., sign in with your HarvardKey and password) before you can use these databases.


Harvard Subscription Access to Certain News Websites

While the library system can't provide subscription access to many newspaper websites (The New York Times being the most prominent example, we do have access to certain newspaper sites.

  • Washington Post: instructions for a free subscription to washingtonpost.com.

See this FAQ entry for further details.


General News Databases (U.S. and world)

  • Nexis Uni (the successor to Lexis Nexis Academic): a standard library database for English language news, it allows you to search thousands of newspapers and newswires and to see the articles, in full-text format, back to about 1980. Searches can cover international, national, regional and local news sources. The database also allows you to search news broadcasts (radio and TV).
  • Factiva: consider this e-resource as your best alternative to LexisNexis Academic. Owned by the Dow Jones company, it allows you to search across 8000 or so news publications from the U.S. and around the world. Some news publications that are not available in full-text in LexisNexis (the Wall Street Journal being one famous example) will be accessible in Factiva and depending on the title, full-text coverage sometimes extends further back than the 1980 cut-off point for Lexis-Nexis.