Skip to main content

Research Guide for Edmund J. Safra Center for Ethics Fellows-in-Residence

Finding Books

At Harvard

HOLLIS contains the Harvard library catalog as well as a huge collection of citations for a variety of materials, including articles and book chapters. For more information about searching HOLLIS, see the HOLLIS User Guide.

  • Sign In - This will enable you to:
    • Make and manage requests (pick up, Scan & Deliver, etc.).
    • See otherwise invisible articles via Harvard subscriptions.
    • Save favorites.
  • My Account

    To view items you have checked out as well current requests, saved items, and other details, use the drop-down menu that appears next to your name once you have signed in.

Beyond Harvard

  • For books not currently available at Harvard, you can request them through Borrow Direct.  If one of the libraries in this network has the item, you should receive it within 4 days.  If it’s not available through Borrow Direct, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow it from a broader network of libraries, which takes an average of 2 weeks.

Finding Articles

Multidisciplinary

HOLLIS+ is a tool that allows you to search Books and Articles, in the Harvard collection, at the same time.

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, and education.

Web of Science is a database covering the journal literature in the sciences, social sciences and the arts. One of the most useful aspects of the database is the ability to do citation searching to determine who has cited a particular article or author.

Philosophy & History

PhilPapers (Philosophical Research Online) is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. It offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Philosopher's Index is a database designed to help researchers easily find publications of interest in the field of philosophy. It contains over 600,000 records from publications that date back to 1902 and originate from 139 countries in 37 languages. Covers all subject areas of philosophyand related disciplines.

America: History & Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

HIstory of Science, Technology & Medicine includes books, book chapters, and journal articles. Some social sciences material is also included.

Law & Politics

HeinOnline is a digital collection of primary and secondary materials relating to law organized into several modules.

WorldWide Political Science Abstracts indexes the journal literature in political science and its related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy.