Research Guides: [FAS] History & Literature 97: Cultures of US Imperialism: Home

Images from the Schlesinger Library

Get Started

Start your archival research on Cultures of U.S. Imperialism with this guide, which is an introduction to topics and sources for students in History & Literature 97: Cultures of U.S. Imperialism.

Use the menu on the left to view additional material related to this topic.

Take Note

Many of our collections are stored offsite and/or have access restrictions. Be sure to contact us in advance of your visit.

Philippines: Archival Collections

Jessie Tarbox Beals Papers
Photographer Jessie Tarbox Beals was one of the first women photojournalists. Beals took hundreds of photographs at the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition (World's Fair) in St. Louis.
Jessie Tarbox Beals Photographs
Most of the photographs from the Beals collection can be viewed online in VIA.
Louisiana Purchase Exposition photographs online in HOLLIS Images
Link to digitized photos from folders 18-31a: "Louisiana Purchase Exposition, Saint Louis, 1904: ceremonies, buildings, pavilions, ethnic groups, miscellaneous exteriors" from the Jessie Tarbox Beals Photograph Collection.
Mae Chapin
After serving as a missionary in China for 20 years, Mae Chapin went to the Philippines, where she was principal of the Union High School in Manila and taught religious education.
Ida Fuller Ford
Ida Fuller Ford joined her husband on his second tour of duty in the Philippines in 1906. They lived in Malabang on the island of Mindanao for two years. The collection includes drafts and an unpublished memoir of her time in the Philippines.
Euphemia Paxton Hewitt. Memoir, n.d.
Euphemia ("Pattie") Paxton Hewitt taught in the Philippines for three years, beginning in August 1901.
Ruth Williams Hooper
In 1937, Hooper joined her husband in Jolo, Philippines, where he was a teacher. The couple moved to Manila in 1939, and during World War II, they were interned in the Santo Tomas prison camp.
Marion Angeline Howlett
Howlett taught etiquette classes in the Philippines and Hawaii. She also wrote an etiquette column for the Manila Daily Bulletin. The collection includes her notes on etiquette, copies of her newspaper column from the 1920s, and photographs of classes.
Rosinal Marguerite Wolfson. Reminiscences, 1947-1950.
Wolfson headed a Red Cross ambulance unit in France during World War I. She lived with her brother and parents in Manila, P.I., until, during and after World War II, and was a Republican National Committeewoman for the Philippine Islands, 1921-1947.