Archival Directories
Archive Grid (OCLC) Harvard Key
Describes the holdings of 1400+ repositories of historical documents, personal papers, family and institutional collections.
Pro Tips:
- A good way to drill into search results is to resrot them from list view to summary view.
- To restrict a search to ditgitized materials only, add this string to your key terms: has_links:1
Directory of State Archives
A listing of links to the websites, social media accounts, and blogs/newsletters of government archives of the fifty states, five territories, and District of Columbia. The Directory is produced and maintained by the Council of State Archives, a non-profit member organization.
ProQuest Archive Finder
Combines the contents of NUCMC (the U.S. National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections) and NIDS (National Inventory of Documentary Sources) for the U.K. and Ireland.
Society of American Archivists (SAA)
Key pages:
- Guide to Archival Consortia: state, regional, and thematically-aligned groups of repositories; often makes searching across collections easy and efficient.
- Organizations and Associations: from this page, you can access a directory of archival institutions in the U.S. and Canada, access a list of international archives, or link out to the websites of allied professional organizations that support archival work.
Wikipedia List of Archives
Though incomplete, it offers a but a starting point for identifying sites across the world.
WorldCat (OCLC)
A catalog of library catalogs from across N. America and across the globe, WorldCat enables. you liimit search results to "archival materials" -- or, by chooseing the advanced search screen, search for archival/special collections items right from the start.
