American National Biography
Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB provides biographical essays, brief bibliographies, and archival collection information for more than 19,000 individuals from all eras and walks of life. Living individuals are not included. HARVARD KEY
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
Searching BGMI enables you to determine which publication to consult for biographical information. As its name implies, BGMI provides citations to nearly 15.4 million biographical sketches that can be found in books and other resources. It covers both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. For each individual, BGMI provides name, date of birth (and death), and the names and dates of biographical source publications that contain information about the individual. HARVARD KEY
Oxford African American Studies Center
This resource brings together in one space, some of the most important and carefully edited reference tools about the Black experience, including key biographical resources like the African American Biographical Database, the Dictionary of African Biography, Black Women in America, and the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography. HARVARD KEY
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (UK)
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press. Also lists archival collections, likeness in the NPG, and wealth at death, when known. HARVARD KEY
World Biographical Information System (WBIS)
Bills itself as the most comprehensive database of biography in existence. It covers 8th-20th centuries and is multilingual. The biographical archives from 30 countries are reproduced here, from original texts and archival materials. HARVARD KEY
