GENED 1039: Higher Education: Students, Institutions, and Controversies

This guide provides information and links to resources and services to help you with your research in Dr. Manja Klemencic's course. If you have any questions about the libraries or about doing research at Harvard, please don't hesitate to ask.
Kathleen Sheehan
ksheehan@fas.harvard.edu

This is a selection of resources for finding journals articles. If you are interested in finding additional resources, try the Databases section of the Library site.

Education Databases

• ERIC provides citations and abstracts from over 750 education journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center from 1967 to the present.
• Education Abstracts provides citations and abstracts from over 680 periodicals and some books from 1983 to the present.
• Higher Education Abstracts published by The Claremont Graduate University, is a quarterly compilation of abstracts of journal articles pertaining to college students, faculty, administrators, and related topics in higher education.
• ​​​​​​​Oxford Bibliographies Online. Education presents annotated bibliographies prepared by scholars who have chosen the key sources in a subject area. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Sociology 

Multidisciplinary

• Social Science Premium Collection  provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, anthropology, and education. 
• Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Google Scholar also enables citation searching which will show you a list of books and/or articles that have cited an item since it was published.
  • Search for the title of a book or article.
  • Select the "Cited by" link under the entry for the book or article.
• Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines and also enables citation searching.

The following sources provide background on theories and movements and review key issues and major debates related to higher education.

• Sage Handbook of International Higher Education
• Encyclopedia of International Higher Education Systems and Institutions - Navigate to the full text by the Contents list or the Search 
• ​Encyclopedia Law and Higher Education 
• The Handbook on the Politics of Higher Education

For assistance with finding and using data resources and government documents in the library, please contact Diane Sredl, Data Reference Librarian at govdoc@fas.harvard.edu. 

Selected Harvard LIbrary Research Guides:

• Education Data Resources (Government Documents and Data in Lamont Library)
• Higher Education: Statistics (Gutman Library at the Harvard Graduate School of Education)
   

Below are a few of the data resources available to you:

• Office of Institutional Research: Harvard University Factbook
• U.S. Department of Education
  • National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal office for collecting and analyzing education data.
    • Postsecondary Surveys & Programs includes information on students, faculty and individual institutions.
    • The Condition of Education is a congressionally mandated annual report containing key education indicators for the United States.
  • College Scorecard
• Center for Post-secondary Research at Indiana University
  • Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education is a framework for recognizing and describing institutional diversity in U.S. higher education.. This framework has been widely used in the study of higher education, both as a way to represent and control for institutional differences, and also in the design of research studies to ensure adequate representation of sampled institutions, students, or faculty.
  • National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) collects information from hundreds of four-year colleges and universities first-year and senior students' participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development.
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS): Higher Education produces a range of indicators to track trends in tertiary education at the global, regional and national levels.
• Eurostat Statistics Explained: Tertiary Education Statistics

When you are looking for books and articles on a topic, use the default search in HOLLIS, which is a keyword search. Once you have done a search, note the "facets" on the right side of the page. The facets enable you to narrow your search by language, source type, subject, etc.

If you find an item you need that the Library does not currently own, you can submit a Purchase Request.

Selected Books on Higher Education by Harvard Authors

• Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by leading academics from across the social sciences. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

• Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.
• Check Harvard Library Bookmark gets you to online material to which Harvard subscribes.
• Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly.
• Scan & Deliver is a free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff.