Research & Resources
Engage in scholarly conversations by performing academic research and learning interview skills
Scholarly Resources
If you are looking for assistance from a medical librarian on a course assignment or research project, please complete the Countway Library of Medicine’s mediated search form and indicate that you are a student in the GenEd 1170 course in your description of why the question is important. One of our research and instruction librarians will get back to you within 2 business days.
Databases in Hollis
See the Hollis Guide to Databases to get the most out of search current publications, latest special issue journals, and contemporary research findings about the pandemic!
- PubMedPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health maintain the database as part of the Entrez system of information retrieval.
- EMBASEEMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing abstracts and citations from 1974 to the present. The records reflect all current developments in biomedical and drug-related fields. The EMBASE journal collection is international in scope, covering subjects including Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), Basic Biological Research, Health Policy and Management, Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science and Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation
- Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science) (1900-)Science Citation Index, published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,700 major journals across more than 150 scientific disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. ## ##The search interface at this web site also provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
- Nexis Uni (Harvard Login)Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Interview Skills
Research Methods in Anthropology by ISBN: 9780759108691Publication Date: 2005-12-22Take a look at chapter 9 for unstructured and semi-structured interviewing. Please note that our license only permits one viewer at a time.
Contact Us
Beate Gersch, Head of Liaison and Orientation Services, beate_gersch@harvard.edu Sarah DeMott, Research Librarian, sarah_demott@harvard.edu