Digital Library of the Caribbean
dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials. These include books, journals, and newspapers in full text, photographs, posters, maps, and other primary resources. TIP: For best results, browse by country.
Feminism in Cuba: 19th-20th Century
Includes documents describing the participation of women in 20th-century revolutionary movements
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959--
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes such diverse materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc., collected from 1959 onward.
Revolution and Protest Online
Browse "Revolution and Protest Events" to find material on a particular struggle or movement.
Latin America and the Caribbean Archive
A collection of over 1.3 million pages of historical material about Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
The collection includes more than 5000 items dating from the early 19th until the early 20th century. Many include maps, photographs and other illustrations. You can search the database by keyword, author, subject, etc. (See an example at the left.)
Latin American Newspapers
A searchable collection of historical newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals
Rare underground publications from the early 20th century
Latin American Newsstream
Recent news content with archives spanning decades; features newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes more than four dozen major U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times and the Chicago Tribune.
Nexis Uni and Factiva
These are databases of newspapers and other news sources around the world, from 1980 to the present. In Nexis Uni, use the Advanced Search; select the News tab; and type your search terms in Headline. In Factiva, the default date range is "Last 3 months," but you can change the date coverage if you need to. You don't need quotation marks for phrases. To find your search term in headlines, use the code hd (e.g., hd=peronistas).
Alexander Street World Music
A search for revolución brings up recordings like Cancion Protesta: Protest Song of Latin America and Crónicas de la Revolución Cubana
Latin America in Video
Original-language documentaries and feature films from Latin America (N.B. -- no subtitles; no useable transcripts)
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
ARTstor
Works of art and journalistic photography from around the world -- such as Peruvian folk art depicting peasants being apprehended by paramilitary troops.
For sources on revolutionary murals, see the search results for Mexican Mural Painting and limit to "Show only: Online." For murals in other countries, use the HOLLIS Advanced Search and search for the Subject "mural painting and decoration", adding the name of the country as a keyword.
AP Images
News photographs from the Associated Press, spanning the 20th century. After searching, you can limit the Source Type to images only.
Organization of American States (OAS)
Use the country links to find key legal texts.
Foreign Law Guide
On the page for each country, click on "Codes" for links to the country's legislative website, where texts of core legislation are often available.