Finding Secondary Sources
Oxford Bibliographies offer numerous annotated bibliographies of secondary sources. Browsing by Subject: Environmental Science yields:
America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews on North American history.
The Forest History Society Research Portal offers over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history, over 30,000 photographs, and other material.
Reviews in American history, 1973- .
HOLLIS Record with online version
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.
JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of several Latin American studies journals. Advanced search is most effective.
Bibliographies of New England History
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC F4.Z99 C65 x
--Numbered entries arranged by city/town. Subject index by entry number. The most complete bibliography of secondary and many primary sources on New England history.
- v. 1. Massachusetts, a bibliography of its history, 1976.
- v. 2. Maine, a bibliography of its history, 1983.
- v. 3. New Hampshire, a bibliography of its history, 1983.
- v. 4. Vermont, a bibliography of its history, 1981.
- v. 5. Rhode Island, a bibliography of its history, 1983.
- v. 6. Connecticut, a bibliography of its history, 1986.
- v. 7. New England: a bibliography of its history, 1989.
- v. 8. New England: additions to the six state bibliographies, 1989.
- v. 9. Further additions, to 1994, 1995.
Local Histories
Many late 19th century city/town histories have a section on the environmental setting of the town. Find them in WorldCat and local library catalogs. Many are accessible via HathiTrust, Google Books, and the Internet Archive.
Example
History of Lynn, Essex county, Massachusetts including Lynnfield, Saugus, Swampscot, and Nahant, by Alonzo Lewis and James R.Newhall. Boston, Shorey, 1865-97. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record