China Resources
Searching within All English-language Works Published in China
In HOLLIS Advanced Search do searches of the form:
Keywords anywhere contains: Economics
AND
Code: MARC place of publication: cc [Code: MARC place of publication is toward the bottom of the search menu]
Limit to English
This is a selected list of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Consult them to get background information or a summary of a topic within a particular context. They generally provide information on important people, places, and concepts.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China Online
The ALA guide to researching modern China, by Yunshan Ye. Chicago : ALA Editions, an imprint of the American Library Association, 2014, 218 pages.
HOLLIS Record
The Cambridge history of China, ed. by Denis Twitchett and John K. Fairbank. Cambridge; NY: Cambridge University Press, 1978- .
Online Full Text
HOLLIS Record (to check locations and which volumes are out)
--Vol. 9, part 1. The Ch'ing Empire to 1800 -- v. 10. Late Chʻing, 1800-1911, pt. 1. -- v. 11. Late Chʻing, 1800-1911, pt. 2
Chinese history: a manual, by Endymion Wilkinson. Rev. and enl. Cambridge, MA: Published by the Harvard University Asia Center, 2000, 1181 p.
Fung Library | Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies | DS735 .W695 2000
Harvard-Yenching | (W) | DS735 .W695 2000
Harvard-Yenching | Ref (W) | DS735 .W695 2000
Widener | RR 3944.4.5
Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture, by Dorothy Perkins. Chicago, IL; London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999, 662 p.
Widener | RR 3944.37
State and economy in Republican China : a handbook for scholars, ed. by William C. Kirby et al. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Asia Center : Distributed by Harvard University Press, 2001, 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
Statistical, Political, Directory and other Country Information
U.S. Government Handbooks
World Factbook (2000-2018) is produced annually by the Central Intelligence Agency and provides brief surveys of the economic, geographic and political conditions of numerous countries.
HathiTrust Online Version (1981-2013)
Continues:
National basic intelligence factbook. 1975-1980
Online Version
Army Area Handbooks series (1957-1977) -- Country Studies (1977-2004, a few later)
Area handbook series. Washington, D.C.: American University, Foreign Area Studies
--HathiTrust Full Text (1984-1998)
--Earlier volumes in HathiTrust have individual records, so search "Area Handbook" China
--Defense Technical Information Center Search “Area Handbook” Country name
Continued by: Country Studies of the Library of Congress
Country Studies. Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, 1986-2004
Country Profiles 2004-2008
--Latest update of brief country data
Yearbooks
A variety of serial publications offer overviews of political and social conditions (politics, economics, organizations, press, etc.) and current events for countries worldwide.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) offers Country Reports and Country Profiles with online political and economic information going back to around 1996. Country Reports Archive, 1952-1995.
Europa world year book [before 1989 titled Europa year book], 1959- . London: Europa Publications
Current Online Version
HOLLIS Record 1989-
HOLLIS Record 1959-1988
--Includes list of major newspapers.
--Since 1963 has a Recent History section for each country summarizing events for the last few years.
--There are Europa yearbooks on particular parts of the world. Find them by searching in HOLLIS: Europa Publications Limited.
International year book and statesmen’s who’s who, 1953-
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust temporary access (1953, 1976-2000)
Political handbook of the world, 1927-1970, 1975- (Annual, title varies)
Online version (2005- )
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust Temporary Access 1928-1945)
-- Political handbook of Europe (1927)
-- Country by country overviews of parliaments (breakdown by party), party leaderships.
-- Lists of newspapers with political affiliation and editors.
Statesman’s year-book, 1864- . London: Palgrave.
Online Version (1864- )
Google Books
HOLLIS Record
Strategic survey, 1966- . London : The Institute for Strategic Studies.
HOLLIS Record (Print)
Online Version
--Annual. Worldwide review of international relations.
Whitaker's almanack. [before 1992 titled Almanack for the year of our Lord…) London: J. Whitaker, 1869- .
HOLLIS Records
Google Books
HathiTrust (1869-1922; Temporary access 2002-2006)
Guides:
Individual Country Reports (American University) lists yearbooks of individual countries with links to online versions. Where no online version (or no older editions) exist, look up title in HOLLIS. HOLLIS may have older print editions than are listed in this guide.
Country Statistical Yearbooks (University of Wisconsin)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, etc. from non-English sources worldwide. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.