Business/Economics Resources
Company Databases
International directory of company histories
Capital IQ contains data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports. You will need to create an individual account.
Orbis is a a global company database, produced by Bureau van Dijk, that is unique in its breadth of geographies and extent of companies covered as well as the availability of private company financial information (depending on the country in which the company is located).
Nexis Uni covers news, business and legal sources. Choose "Business" or "Company Dossier" from the Menu to search for company information.
Annual Reports
Baker has thousands of company annual reports(1820-date), with a current collecting focus on Fortune 500 and global companies. Individual reports are not in HOLLIS, but are included in an onsite database. They are starting to acquire sustainability and other types of reports and will soon acquire Stanford and UC Berkeley’s annual report collections.
LC Subject term is: Corporations Reports
Annual Reports at Academic Business Libraries is a database locating reports of individual companies in nine major collections including Harvard.
Annual Reports to Shareholders: Historical Collections in Libraries, by Judith M. Nixon (Libraries Research Publications. Paper 123 (2010)) offers an overview of corporate report collections
Proquest Historic Annual Reports offers full text of 800 Fortune 500 companies back to 1844.
Columbia Historical Corporate Reports Online Collection
Historical Corporate Reports (University of Pennsylvania) (1800s-1975)
ABI Inform (1971-) indexes academic management, marketing, and general business journals
Business Source Complete (early 20th century- )
American city business journals (1990s- )
Economics
EconLit (1969- ) indexes articles from over 525 journals. Since 1987 includes books and dissertations. Earlier years available in print in Index to Economic Journals (1886- ) and Index of economic articles in collective volumes (1960- )
International bibliography of economics (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2011).
Economics Research Guide - International Data Resources
EIU Country Data contains economic indicators and forecasts on economic structure, foreign payments, exchange rates, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade and quarterly indicators. Also have access to City Data, Market Industries & Forecasts, and Industry Data.
World Development Indicators contains statistical data from the World Bank for over 1500 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Other World Bank Databases can be accessed from their Data Catalog.
PolicyFile (1990-) offers public policy reports and studies published by think tanks, university research programs, research organizations including the OECD, IMF, World Bank, the Rand Corporation, and a number of federal agencies.
Policy Archive is a digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
Think Tank Search - from the Kennedy School of Government, a customized Google search of documents produced by think tanks.
Google advanced search. You can limit by domain: .org
eMarketer - Market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media, and emerging technologies. eMarketer is useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet as well as for keeping up with new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
IBISWorld - Research reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China. Reports include analysis of industry drivers, risk, market data and segments, competitors, and industry performance. Note: IBISWorld limits the number of downloads any one user can take at a single session. If this amount is exceeded the downloading capability is cut off for all Harvard users. Please download only what you need.
Passport - Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International. Topics covered include economic indicators, demographic data, foreign trade statistics, and information sources.
ABI/ProQuest has reports from Fitch Solutions on a wide range of geographies and industries.
- Click on Publications at the top of the screen
- On the next screen type "Fitch Solutions" and select Search
- Select Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports
- On the next screen, type country name in the search box under "Search within this publication"