Adam Matthew Primary Source Collections
A suite of themed primary source collections documenting (for example) aspects of empire, foreign relations, and politics; social history, social movements, and social change; popular culture; race, gender and sexuality; commerce, marketing, leisure studies, and more.
Materials are mainly drawn from important US, UK, and European archives, libraries, special collections and historical societies, including the British National Archives (Kew), the New York Public Library, the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), London; Bibliotheque nationale de France (BnF); the Huntington Library (CA), and the University of Melbourne.
Alexander Street Press Research Collections
A major site for digitized historical documents, video (historical, discipline-specific, and documentary), and streaming music and performance.
Collections -- among many others -- that might have interest for students in current tutorials (and beyond) include:
Archives Unbound (Gale)
A multi-disciplinary resource, its collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward -- with modules on everything from witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Particular strengths include US foreign policy; US civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
Gale Primary Sources
A treasure trove for students who in search of primary source materials like
UK NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES
- 17th, 18th, and 19th century British newspapers, including the Times of London (1789- ) and the Sunday (London) Times (1822- ); the Daily Mail archive (1896-2004); the Financial Times (1888-2008); and the Illustrated London News (1842-2003).
- key UK periodicals like the Economist (1843-2015); Liberty Magazine (1924-1950); the Picture Post (1938-1957); Punch (1841-1992); and The Listener (1929-1991), the landmark publication of the BBC.
US SOCIAL AND LEGAL HISTORY
- Associated Press Online Collections: photographs, videos, wire copy, personal papers, internal publications, and more, dating from the mid 1880s through the 20th century.
-
Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1950-1980: documents which support the study of the most frequently cited/landmark cases include appellant's and appellee's briefs; reply briefs; amicus briefs; appendices; motions; petitions; transcript; and various court records.
-
newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records on such topics as ree speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, the Civil Rights Movement.
HEIN Online
HeinOnline is the gold standard for primary source legal materials, both U.S. and international.
It also provides comprehensive coverage of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals.
In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754. Entire databases dedicated to UN Law, treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Among its collection of specially-themed document "libraries" are:
- Animal Studies: Law, Welfare, and Rights
- Art, Antiquity, and the Law
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
- Immigration Law and Policy in the U.S.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Homeland Security Digital Library
Resources cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists. Sources include, but are not limited to:
- Federal, state and local governments
- International governments and institutions
- Nonprofit organizations and private sector entities
- Think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities
Primary Sources: Brill Online
Brill offers primary source material as collections in multiple subject areas. Many Brill collections are unique, often being published digitally for the first time. Areas pertinent to Social Studies topics include:
- International Law
- Human Rights
- US Intelligence Files on Asia, Europe, and the Middle East
- Slavic Studies
ProQuest Congressional
An essential database for identifying the work of Congress, current and historical, in its four dimensions: legislative , oversight, investigative, and confirmatory.
ProQuest Congressional also provides access to CRS (Congressional Research Services) Reports, which provide overviews and issue frames on the host of concerns with which Congress is preoccupied. CRS reports distil and synthesize in a non-partisan way.
ProQuest History Vault
Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.
On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE.
History Vault's collections on slavery and southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in southern society and provide some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system.