United States Sources
Government Sources
ProQuest Congressional provides full text for Congressional publications dating from 1790 to the present. Publications included are Committee Hearings, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Serial Set Maps, Serial Set. More information from ProQuest. ProQuest has a Research Guide to Government Documents.
Hathitrust is a huge general digital library similar to, and partly overlapping in content with, Google Books and Internet Archive but with some special features. You can do a full text search over the whole collection of millions of books and journals and then effectively refine the results. Use Full Text Advanced Search.
You can search full text over an enormous collection of US government documents. In Advanced Full Text, searching for Yalta for 1946 yields 264 (with some duplication) records.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series, issued by the State Department, largely comprises declassified material chosen to document US foreign relations.
State Department statements are available in the Department of State Bulletin (1939-1989)
A Decade of American Foreign Policy: Basic Documents 1941- 1949. Rev. ed.
HOLLIS Record
Online version
--Public documents, including foreign policy messages, addresses, interviews, press briefings, conferences, and releases, congressional testimony, and similar materials.
Foreign Affairs Oral History Program (Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training)
American National Biography is the standard American source for biographies of major figures. Can do searches of occupations and limit by date.
Department of State (US): People offers biographies of the secretaries of State and others
Biographic register of the Department of State (1870-1974)
Hathitrust (1945)
HOLLIS Record
--Lists diplomats and consuls together with biographies if the recently deceased.
Newspapers
See Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes, especially the Proquest Historical Newspapers
Magazines
Magazines, comprising general interest and opinion magazines like Time or The New Yorker.
Basic Resources:
Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982), online version of the Readers' guide to periodical literature, indexes many American popular periodicals.
Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary – (1945- ) Commonweal (1924) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - Moment (1975- )- NACLA (1966- ) - Nation (1965- ) - National Review (1955- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New Republic (1914- ) - New York Review (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- )- Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- ) Full text searchable.
The political orientation of several of these magazine, together with that of several others, is specified in the News and Opinion section of the biennial Magazines for Libraries (1969- ).
A history of American magazines, by Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1938-1968, 5 v.
FindIt@Harvard
--V. 1. 1741-1850 -- v. 2. 1850-1865 -- v. 3. 1865-1885 -- v. 4. 1885-1905 -- v. 5. Sketches of 21 magazines, 1905-1930, with a cumulative index to the five volumes.
More sources for magazines (popular periodicals) are listed on the in the General and Popular Indexes pages of Finding Articles in General and Popular Periodicals (North America and Western Europe), which also has a page on women's magazines.