Zine Collections, Zine Culture, Zine Making
Barnard College Zines
The materials in this special library collection (more than 11,000 items) are created by women and transfeminine people, with a collection emphasis on zines by BIPOC women/transfeminine and by transwomen of all races and ethnicities. The collection also focuses on feminism and femme identity by people of all genders.
Features of the Barnard Zine site that make it worth your while to spend some time there include: a directory of Zine library collections (U.S. and worldwide), a considerable digitized collection of zines (updated weekly); zine-making basics; a list of genre categories with definitions and example zines; links to zine resource sites; news and events lists.
Printernet Collection of American Zines (Houghton Library)
The collection consists of approximately 9,000 zines, underground periodicals, and do-it-yourself one-offs, the vast majority of them from the west coast of the United States, and on a variety of topic. Among the genres and subjects represented are fiction and poetry; punk, indie, electronic, hip-hop, metal and avant garde music and culture; science fiction; cyberculture and hacker culture; sexuality; visual arts (including comics, mail art, rubber-stamp art, sticker art, street art and graffiti); and film, video, and popular culture. The majority date from the 1990s and early 2000s, but there are some from as early as the mid-twentieth century.
Schlesinger Library Zine Collection, Research Guide
As this research guide The Schlesinger Library holds about 1000 zines at this moment. From this research guide, you can browse subject categories.
Schlesinger's guide also gives precise tips for searching its zines in HOLLIS. Smaller clutches of zines are also in Widener, Fine Arts, and Tozzer Anthropology Library.
Schlesinger also lists many important secondary and reference sources on zines, that will help you contextualize.
ZineWiki
First appearing in 2006, ZineWiki is an open-source encyclopedia devoted to zines and independent media. It covers the history, production, distribution and culture of the small press. With upwards of 5000 articles, it aims to be "the most complete online zine database, useful for zine libraries, archivists, readers, and writers looking to catalog their work."
Guide to Zine Making (Pollack Library, CSU-Fullerton)
Tutorials, videos, and templates.
