OBO combines the best features of the annotated bibliography with an authoritative subject encyclopedia in order to help you identify some of the most important and influential scholarship on a broad topic (h).
Often the issue in information-seeking isn't scarcity of material but overabundance. OBO entries can help you solve the problem of knowing what or who to read or which voices in the conversation you should give some fuller attention to.
The database updates quarterly, to keep material current.
Sample entries relevant to WGS 1274 might include:
Since 1932, the Annual Reviews series has offered authoritative syntheses of the primary research literature in 46 academic fields, including economics, law, political science, and sociology.
Literature reviews help you easily understand—and contextualize—the principal contributions that have been made in your field. They not only track trends over time in the scholarly discussions of a topic, but also synthesize and connect related work. They cite the trailblazers and sometimes the outliers, and they even root out errors of fact or concept. Typically, they include a final section that identifies remaining questions or future directions research might take.
1. If you find a review that seems on point, but rather dated (10 years or so), try searching for it (or one of the authorities it cites) in Google Scholar. Then follow the “cited by” links. You may discover something more recent there.
2. Lit reviews can be searched for in other databases. Sometimes, adding the the phrase "literature review" to a keyword search will surface these publications. Sometimes, using a limiter ("flter") will also work. Typically, literature review is listed under "Document Type" or "Methodology" in the filter options you're given.
The ultimate methods library, it has more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It also boasts the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Users can browse content by topic, discipline, or format type (reference works, book chapters, definitions, etc.). SRM offers several research tools as well: a methods map; user- created readng lists; a project planner' and advice on choosing statistical tests.
Examples of topics related to 1274 themes:
A news and business information database produced by the Dow Jones company, containing content from more than 200 countries (and in 28 languages, though English predominates). Material is drawn from newspapers, news sites, newswires, TV and radio transcripts. Full-text coverage varies by title, but is generally better from 1980 forward. Factiva is the major competitor to Nexis Uni (see below) for current news access.
A powerful news database which covers more than 3000 newspapers from around the globe, most in English (or English translation). Coverage varies by title but usually dates from the 1980s forward. Nexis Uni is also good for searching transcripts of major TV and radio news broadcasts (including the BBC and NPR).
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Academic Search Premier (Ebscohost)
Consider ASP a step "between" the breadth that HOLLIS offers and the subject depth that library databases offer you. ASP searches across the disciplines (like HOLLIS) and canvasses both scholarly and non-scholarly sources like HOLLIS, but because it's a smaller universe, working with the results it offers can sometimes feel easier, especially at the start of a research project.
Most of the research databases you use search for information differently than Google Scholar. Most base their results lists on "metadata" -- the descriptive information about items that identifies features in certain fields (title, author, table of contents, subject terms, etc.).
While Google Scholar's algorithms account for some of this same information, it adds full-text into the mix when it retrieves, sorts, and ranks search results.
What does this mean for you? Sometimes, better relevance, especially on the first page or so. And sometimes, given that it searches full-text, Google Scholar might reveal more quickly than our databases where a hard-to-find nugget of scholarly information is hidden away in a published article.
So have it your repertoire: just be sure you maximize its utility to you by adjusting your Google Scholar settings, as described in the section below.
Google Scholar can also be a good place to do a "cited reference" search in order to trace scholarly reaction to/engagement a particular article forward in time..
Sociology Collection (ProQuest)
A core resource for searching the scholarship in sociology, social theory, social planning/policy, and related disciplines, like criminology, (some ) economics, and (some education). It includes citations and abstracts from over 1800 journals, relevant dissertations, selected books and book chapters, and association papers, as well as citations for book reviews and other media.
Race Relations Abstracts (Ebscohost)
Focuses in particular on issues related to diversity, discrimination, ethnic studies, immigration, and other essential areas of race relations.
GOVERNMENT AND POLICY PERSPECTIVES
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
WPSA provides citations to and summaries of journal literature in political science and related fields, including political sociology, political theory, economics, law, and public policy.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information System)
A public policy database that covers U.S. issues of domestic and legistlative concern as well as international topics.
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides abstracts and the full text of some 175 academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
IDEAS is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics and related social sciences. The heart of the project is RePEC, a bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.
Currently considered the most complete collection of education journals in full-text, Education Source also identifies book length studies, education-related yearbooks, and more. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a major resource for research in all areas of education. ERIC draws its content from more than 800 journals as well from education-related documents of other kinds: conference papers, research reports, state, federal, and local education documents, chapters from selected books, curriculum guides, etc.).
CINAHL Plus (allied health disciplines, including nursing)
Pub Med (National Library of Medicine)
A statistics portal that integrates over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single platform. Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with access to quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and additional areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world by conducting public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Pew is non-profit, non-partisan, and non-advocacy.
Our government documents and data librarians can help you sort through the complexities of where data sets are located (or even whether there's good data on a topic that interests you).
Contact them at this address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Research guides on finding and using data of various kinds at Harvard are collected here: Beginner's Guide to Locating and Using Numeric Data.
If you're new to visualization techniques, you'll find information on types and their various argumentative strengths on this Law School Library guide: Visualization Tools
Lamont Library's Media Services department offers personalized consultations and a variety of ongoing workshops. Read more about our Visualization Support.
Google Scholar Settings: One simple change can turn Google Scholar into what's effectively a Harvard database -- with links to the full-text of articles that the library can provide. Here's what to do: Look to the left of the GS screen and click on the "hamburger" (); then click on . Look for "Library Links." Then type Harvard University into the search box and save your choice. As long as you allow cookies, the settings will keep.
Zotero, a free, open source citation management tool will take the process of collecting and organizing citations, incorporating them into your paper, and creating a bibliography or works cited page to the next level.
It's worth the small investment of time to learn Zotero. A good guide, produced by Harvard librarians, is available here: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/zotero.
DON'T HAVE TIME TO LEARN ZOTERO RIGHT NOW?
ZoteroBib, a free citation generator, may be the answer for your E-25 paper. It lets you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. Some of its handy features are described on this page.