Welcome to the Harvard Library
Gathering Background Information
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work with essays written and maintained by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished editorial board before they are made public.
Oxford Bibliographies Online offers peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies on topics in disciplines including Philosophy and Political Science.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics offers substantive overview articles with extensive bibliographies written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Cambridge Companions to Philosphy, Religion and Culture is part of a series from Cambridge University Press, offering introductions to major writers, artists, and philosophers, as well as special topics and periods. The collections are cross-searchable and updated as new editions are made available.
Social Science Premium provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, and education.
Web of Science is a database covering the journal literature in the sciences, social sciences and the arts. One of the most useful aspects of the database is the ability to do citation searching to determine who has cited a particular article or author.
Philosophy, History & Politics
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars.
PhilPapers (Philosophical Research Online) is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. It offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers the public and social policy literature of public administration, political science, law, etc, including publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
HeinOnline is a digital collection of primary and secondary materials relating to law organized into several modules.
Public Policy Resources
Policyfile - contains policy papers and reports from think tanks, government agencies, and university research centers.
Think Tank Search - a research guide from the Harvard Kennedy School
ProQuest Congressional - primary resources for information on congressional activities.
Policy Memo Resource - from Harvard Kennedy School
Helpful Library Services & Tools
- Check Harvard Library Bookmark - Search for full-text access.
- Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly. Harvard Guide to Using Sources provides information about using and citing sources in your academic work.
- Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.