Library Research Guide for HIST 1006: Native American and Indigenous Studies

“Dakota Indians Wars, 1862-1865” AND (“Personal narratives” OR diaries OR correspondence OR sources)

The United States Army and the Indian wars in the trans-Mississippi West, 1860-1898, by Bruce Reber, with additional assistance from Louise Arnold, and Richard Sommers. Carlisle Barracks, Pa. : US Army Military History Institute, [1978] viii, 186 p.
HOLLIS Record with online access

The late 19th century U.S. Army, 1865-1898 : a research guide, by Joseph G. Dawson III. NY: Greenwood Press, 1990, 252 p.
HOLLIS Record

A bibliographical guide to the history of Indian-white relations in the United States, by Francis Paul Prucha. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 1977, 454 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text

Supplement:
Indian-white relations in the United States : a bibliography of works published 1975-1980, by Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln, Neb. : University of Nebraska Press, c1982, 179 p.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of American Indian wars, 1492-1890, by Jerry Keenan. Santa Barbara, ABC-CLIO, 1997, 278 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text

The War Department and Indian affairs, 1800-1824 offers documents from the U.S. National Archives

Eyewitnesses to the Indian Wars, 1865-1890 / edited by Peter Cozzens. Mechanicsburg, PA : Stackpole Books, 2001-2005. 5 v.
Widener WID-LC E99.A6 E94 2001  
--Vol. 1. The struggle for Apacheria -- v. 2. The wars for the Pacific Northwest -- v. 3. Conquering the southern plains -- v. 4. The long war for the northern plains -- v. 5. The Army and the Indian. 

Dakota Conflict of 1862: manuscript collections. 4 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1157
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1157
Online Guide
--Reproduces 144 small collections of letters, reminiscences, reports, diaries, and related materials dealing with Minnesota's Dakota Conflict and related events of 1862-1865.

The papers of William Henry Harrison, 1800-1815. 10 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film M 527 = guide.
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | Film M 527 Consult Documents/Microtexts desk
--Consists of printed transcripts, in full or in abstract, of Harrison's papers.
Reel 1. Dec 2, 1799-Oct 30, 1804 -- reel 2. Nov 2, 1804-Sep 27, 1807 -- reel 3. Oct 4, 1807-May 1, 1810 -- reel 4. May 2, 1810-Oct 13, 1811 -- reel 5. Oct 14, 1811-Aug 27, 1812 -- reel
6. Aug 28, 1812-Dec 19, 1812 -- reel 7. Dec 21, 1812-Apr 7, 1813 -- reel 8. Apr 8, 1813-Aug 18, 1813 -- reel 9. Aug 19, 1813-Mar 19, 1814 -- reel 10. Mar 20, 1814-Dec 31, 1815, addendum.
--Leader of Army forces against Indians at the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811 and the Battle of the Thames in 1813 which resulted in the death of Tecumseh.