Indian Papers
Sources for general newspapers are listed in Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes.
Digital Public Library of America
Native American Tribal Resources and Newspapers: Online (Current papers)
Historical Indigenous and Native American Newspapers Online
American Indian Newspapers (1828-2016; varies by newspaper). Full text searchable database.
Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles of the independent alternative press, 1960s- . Many papers are still only available at Harvard via microfilm collections. Includes a few Native American papers.
Indigenous Peoples: North America. For list of titles: Publication Search, then List All Publications
Chronicling America, enhancing access to historic American newspapers (1836-1922) (Library of Congress) includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present in which searches for newspapers can be limited by ethnicity and language. Selected newspapers can then be searched full text, if available, in Advanced Search. Chronicling America list of digitized Native American newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) offers full-text of 90 newspapers and other periodicals (1990- ) and of 30 African American, Hispanic American, and Native American newspapers and other periodicals (1959-1989). Lists of periodicals by ethnicity. Includes Native American newspapers.
The University of Illinois Library Newspaper Database includes titles and location of newspapers in major microfilm and online collections. You can search by title, by Collection, by Subject (for example, Native American), Year, and by State or City. You will be directed to the proper microfilm or online collection. Includes all four of the following microfilm collections. We will be happy to help with the microfilm.
You have to request microfilm at the Lamont circulation desk if it is on Level D and it will be brought up for you. You can look at it using the microfilm viewers on Level B. They will show you how to use the viewer. If you have questions please let us know. Instructions. Some of the microfilm is in drawers on Level B so you can get it yourself
Using microfilm. Not our video, so the system may not be exactly the same.
Periodicals by and about American Indians. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, 2009? 82 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1435
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1435 = guide
Online guide
--Ephemeral periodicals (mimeographed news-sheets, offset tabloids, and, occasionally newspapers) often from short-lived presses and circulated hand to hand. Most originate with Indian groups, some are missionary society or federal publications, U.S. and Canadian.
--Reels 1-47 contain files through 1972 or 1973; reels 48-82 contain updates for 1973-1981 issues grouped by year and numbered on container labels as reels 73-1, 73-2, 73-3, 74-1, 74-2, etc.
American Indian periodicals in the Princeton University Library. NY: Clearwater Pub. Co., 1981-1983. 2690 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 5299
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 5299 = shelflist
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | Film W 23793
Online guide
American Indian periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1884-1981. 13 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 938
Online guide
Contemporary newspapers of the North American Indian / [a Bell & Howell product prepared in cooperation with the American Indian Press Association and the Huntington Free Library of the Museum of the American Indian]. Wooster, Ohio : Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell, [1974?] 18 reels & guide (67 leaves.)
Tozzer | Microfilm RELOCATED TO CABOT | N.A.ETH. B 412 c
--Includes nearly 50 newspapers, 1924-1973.
Guides:
Native American periodicals and newspapers, 1828-1982: bibliography, publishing record, and holdings, ed. by James P. Danky; compiled by Maureen E. Hady and Ann Bowles. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984, 532 p.
Tozzer | REF | E 77.Z99 D3 1984
Widener | WID-LC | E77.Z99 D36 x, 1984
--Indexes by subject, editor, publisher, geography, catchword/subtitle, chronology (by decade).
American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals, by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr., and James W. Parins. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984-1986. 3 v.
--v. 1: 1826-1924; v. 2: 1925-1970; v. 3: 1971-1985.
Widener | RR4781.31.5
--Has chronology by date of inception.