Library Research Guide for HIST 1006: Native American and Indigenous Studies

Algonquian Indians
Cayuga Indians -- Rites and ceremonies
Indians of North America -- Hunting -- Newfoundland and Labrador
Indians of North America -- Newfoundland and Labrador -- Religion and mythology
Naskapi Indians -- Hunting
Naskapi Indians -- Religion and mythology

Anthropology Plus provides simultaneous searching of Anthropological Literature (late 19th century- ) and Anthropological Index (1957- ), both also separately available in Harvard Libraries. Note that Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index are produced by different organizations and have different subject heading (descriptor) systems). Be sure you have both the Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index subject terms for your topic and redo your search using these terms, if different from your initial search. Guide to Anthropological Literature available on Tozzer Library website.

Bibliography of Native North Americans (16th century- )

The Bureau of American Ethnology was established in 1879. It did research and collected publications on American Indians until its merger with the Smithsonian Insitution’s Dept of Anthropology in 1965.

Bureau of American Ethnology Publications Online

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles. Bulletin 200. (Washington, D.C., 1971)
Online version (1997)
1956 ed.

EHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area File) contains the full text of books, periodical articles, manuscripts, and dissertations and theses on selected cultures of the world, including Iroquois.

In HOLLIS you can search (as Subject words):

"description and travel" AND Indians AND "Southern States" and get such records as

The private journal of Captain G.H. Richards : the Vancouver Island survey (1860-1862) / edited by Linda Dorricott & Deirdre Cullon. Vancouver : Ronsdale Press, 2011, 271 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | F1089.V3 R53 2011
Subject terms:
Richards, G. H. (George Henry) -- Diaries
Richards, G. H. (George Henry) -- Travel.
Indians of North America -- British Columbia -- Vancouver Island.
Vancouver Island (B.C.) -- Description and travel.

The land of the Pueblos. By Susan E. Wallace. New York, J. B. Alden, 1888, 285 p.
Google Books version
Widener US 35738.88
Subject terms: Pueblo Indians
New Mexico -- Description and travel.

Note that very many pre-1923 books will be online full text in Google Books (link shown above) or in HathiTrust (often not linked from HOLLIS)

You can use the following terms, as well as the names of states, to limit HOLLIS (and WordCat) searches to particular regions of the country

“East U.S.”
Great Basin
Great Plains
Middle Atlantic States
Middle West
New England
Northwestern States
Southern States
Southwest
“West U. S.”

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment includes letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent between 1534-1860.

Archives Unbound: Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 presents printed materials selected from The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.

American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana (1722-1939) offers digitized manuscripts, ephemera, photographs, maps, and printed books.