Government Documents
HOLLIS - the following subject terms may be helpful to search in HOLLIS to find government documents:
- Government relations
Example search: Subject phrase: Indians of North America -- Government relations
The great majority of U.S. and foreign government documents and the publications of international organizations are housed in the Government Documents/Microforms Collection. Many government documents are not represented in the HOLLIS Catalog.
Hathitrust includes numerous government documents. In the Catalog Advanced Search, you can use a government department or agency name as author. HathiTrust also offers:
- Separate full text search for HathiTrust government documents. Narrow the results in the left hand column by Author: agency name, date, etc.
- United States Federal Government Documents Registry, a catalog type search
There are also many government documents in the Internet Archive. There is an Internet Archive subcollection GovDocs Government Documents which is itself full text searchable and which contains foreign, US, state and local documents. This may not include all government documents in the Internet Archive.
The Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S (1928-1943)
--Meriam Report of 1928 (titled The Problem of Indian Administration) surveyed conditions on Indian Reservations in 26 states
--Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States was a 41-part report to the US Senate
Annual report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs.
HathiTrust Version 1824-1831
HathiTrust Version 1824-1830, 1836-1908 (1st in list 1809/1870) is really just 1870
ProQuest Version 1830-1845
Annual report of the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution.
HathiTrust Version
Commissioner of Indian Affairs Annual Report, 1837-1930, 1951-1967
Department of the Interior Tribal Documents Archive
Office of Indian Affairs, Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1826-1932
Archival
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs: central classified files, 1907-1939.
HOLLIS Record
Online guides Search Indian, scroll down to Records
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs [BIA] (Record Group 75), 1793-1989. Guide to Federal Records.
Preliminary inventory of the records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs: (Record group 75), by Edward E. Hill. Washington : National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1965. 2 v. (459 p.)
HathiTrust Full Text
Preliminary inventory of the records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs: Northern California and Nevada Agencies : (Record group 75), by Thomas W. Wadlow and Arthur R. Abel. San Francisco : Regional Archives Branch, San Francisco, Federal Records Center, 1966. Rev. / by Arthur R. Abel. 27 p.
HathiTrust Full Text
Guide to records in the National Archives of the United States relating to American Indians, by Edward E. Hill. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981 [i.e. 1982] 467 p.
HathiTrust Full Text
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, procedural issuances, orders and circulars, 1854-1955. 17 microfilm reels
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request]
Records of the Cherokee Indian Agency in Tennessee, 1801-1835. 14 microfilm reels. Bureau of Indian Affairs.
Online guide
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request]
Survey of Indian reservations, 1935. [S.l.] : South Dakota E.R.A., 1935. 8 v. Microfilm
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film W 8500
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | Film W 8500 Consult Documents/Microtexts desk for v.1=HNC6D5, v.2=HNC6D4, v.3=HNC6D6
"Survey of Indian Reservations was compiled by the South Dakota Emergency Relief Administration during the Great Depression. The health, housing, education, finances, religion, and customs of the Indians
Native Americans and the New Deal [microform] : the office files of John Collier, 1933-1945.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 889 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 889 = Guide Level B
Online Guide (Scroll down)
John Collier papers, 1922-1968. 59 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 353
Research Guide: U.S. Congressional Publications
Research Guide: Federal Legislative History
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 with American State Papers, 1789-1838 consists of reports, documents and journals of U.S. Congress, including reports originating in Executive Departments.
Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899 : a project of the Institute for the Development of Indian Law / Steven L. Johnson. NY: Clearwater Pub. Co., 1977, 503 p.
HOLLIS Record
United States Congressional Serial Set Finding List: Agency Series Found in the Serial Set offers a list of government document series available in the Serial Set arranged by agency.
HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents provides full-text access to the published debates, proceedings and speeches of the U.S. Congress, including the Annals of Congress(1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873) and the Congressional Record (1873 to present).
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing for Congressional publications dating from 1790 to the present. Post-1970, full-text access is often available. Publications included are Committee Hearings, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Serial Set Maps, Serial Set. More information. Research guides are available at the ProQuest Congressional wiki.
Research Guide: U.S. Presidential Documents
American President: A Reference Resource (Miller Center, University of Virginia). At the bottom of each president’s page is a section, Scripps Library Reference Resources, with a link to a guide to each president’s papers.
Presidential Papers. This guide lists published papers (public and private) of U.S. presidents and provides information on finding their unpublished papers.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (University of California at Santa Barbara American Presidency Project)
Osage Indian murders (FBI File)
Internet Archive -- About the Osage Indian Murders
Canada. Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990