Archives and Manuscripts
Collections at Harvard
Harvard is one of the world's largest repositories of manuscripts and archives. Most of Harvard's collections are represented in HOLLIS, but for an in depth search for manuscripts at Harvard, you should talk with the librarians at the likely Harvard repositories.
HOLLIS searches catalog records and online finding aids. Finding aids are searched full text and the associated catalog record is displayed with a link to the finding aid. Many archival collections have catalog records only, with their finding aids existing only in paper in their repository. Search in Library Catalog Advanced Search, adjusting Resource type tpo Archives/Manuscripts.
Finding aids are full-text searchable, but they do not support phrase (in "") searching if the phrase includes certain stop words like "and." The stop word must be removed for the search to work. For example, instead of "Thoughts and Figgerings", search "Thoughts Figgerings"
A limited number of finding aids which are very long are not fully indexed. Only the first ~80K words are indexed. (Affects ~ 115 finding aids, or 2%).
HOLLIS for Archival Discovery (the successor to OASIS) searches the full text of the finding aids (only, does not search catalog records). It retrieves whole collections (listed at the top of the results), then components of collections, usually individual items (sometimes digital) or series.
For an in depth search for manuscripts at Harvard, you should talk with the librarians at the likely Harvard repositories.
Collections at Other Repositories
Archive Finder. allows limitation to Massachusetts repositories or to individual repository. It has its own subject term system (different from HOLLIS), so note their terms and search accordingly.
Massachusetts Archives is the repository for the official records of the Commonwealth. Nearly all the collections are represented in ArchiveGrid by series-level descriptions together with numerous agency history records. Put "Massachusetts Archives" in the search field with your keywords to limit to this repository. There is no public web access in the Archives, however. Onsite service is via a printout of collection descriptions.
In ArchiveGrid search "Indians of north america" AND "Massachusetts Archives"
The Massachusetts Archives, the ancient archives of Massachusetts, was rearranged by subject by Joseph Barlow Felt in 1836-39. Access is via a very detailed card file and an online database.
There are several genealogical sources, including a microfilm index of Massachusetts birth, death and marriage records, 18xx-1971. Harvard has this microfilm, but for 1841-1895 only. Index gives year and town only. For full records go to For full records go to the Registry of Vital Records and Statistics.
Massachusetts Archives Synopsis of Holdings. Scroll down to “Special colonial and early state materials to 1800”
Massachusetts Historical Society is an important source for Boston-area history. Has large collection of personal papers. Online Finding Aids
The MHS online catalog, Abigail, contains collection-level records for all MHS manuscript collections with links to many, but not all, inventories. Much post 1870s printed material, especially pamphlets, are not in Abigail. These are accessed via a card catalog. Records from Abigail are included in WorldCat.
Over 300,000 item level records are accessible via a microfiche set. This microfiche catalog is not exhaustive, but does usefully index the major collections. It supersedes the published Catalog of Manuscripts of the Massachusetts Historical Society (7 v., 1969 + Suppl. (2 v., 1980)).
Manuscript material available on microfilm must be used as microfilm. Some microfilms of MHS manuscript collections are available in other libraries. Records of these are included in WorldCat, and there is an outdated (1992) list available at MHS.
Society for Propagating the Gospel Among the Indians and Others in North America Records
Photographing the American Indian: Portraits of Native Americans, 1860-1913, from the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society