Hawaii
Background and Context
Historical dictionary of Polynesia, Robert D. Craig. 3rd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011, xxxvii, 440 p.
HOLLIS Record
Oceania: an introduction to the cultures and identities of Pacific Islanders, by Andrew Strathern et al. Durham, N.C.: Carolina Academic Press, 2002, 272 p.
HOLLIS Record
Historical dictionary of Guam and Micronesia, by William L. Wuerch and Dirk Anthony Ballendorf. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994, xxxi, 172 p.
HOLLIS Record
The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia, ed. by Brij V. Lal and Kate Fortune. Honolulu : University of Hawai'i Press, 2000, xxxvi, 664 p.
HOLLIS Record
Secondary Sources
Micronesian histories: an analytical bibliography and guide to interpretations, Nicholas J. Goetzfridt. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002, 337 pp.
HOLLIS Record
List of secondary, and some primary, sources with long summaries. Subject index. Sections on Micronesia, Marshalls, PalauA
Bibliography
Pacific bibliography: printed matter relating to the native peoples of Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia, by C.R.H. Taylor. 2nd ed. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1965, 692 p.
Subject: Ethnology -- Islands of the Pacific -- Bibliography
Oceania -- Bibliography
Islands of the Pacific -- Bibliography
HOLLIS Record
Pacific island bibliography, by Floyd M. Cammack and Shiro Saito. New York, Scarecrow Press, 1962, 421 p.
HOLLIS Record
A bibliography of reports, surveys, and studies prepared by, for, or about the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, by Gordon Wright. Saipan, Mariana Islands: Dept. of Education, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, 1969, 182 p.
Subject: Pacific Islands (Trust Territory) -- Bibliography.
HOLLIS Record
Archives and Manuscripts
Mrs. A. Chester Hanford collection of materials concerning Hawaii, 1882-1889.
--Includes letters from David Kalakaua and Liliuokalani, king and queen of Hawaii. Also includes manuscript (in the Amoy dialect of Chinese) of the 23rd psalm and a collection of 19th-century invitations and broadsides.
HOLLIS Record
Newspapers
Bob Krauss Research Index: an index of English-language newspapers from Hawaiʻi, 1840-1944
--Not comprehensive. Reflects the interests of the compiler
Papakilo: Hawaiian Newspapers Collection (1834 to 1980)
Document Collections
Annexation Of Hawaii: A Collection Of Documents offers reports and debates from the late 19th and early 20th centuries related to the overthrow of the Hawaiian kingdom and the annexation of Hawaiʻi. Including the Blount Report and the Anti-annexation Petitions.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library Online includes Hawaiian historical source materials, in their original language. Includes histories, historical documents, genealogies, land redistribution documents, historical dictionaries, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, historical textbooks on Hawaiian traditional culture, oral histories, photos, and some music. Although user interface is in Hawaiian, you can search English words.
The Save Our Surf (SOS) digital collection consists of unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement.
Films
A guide to films about the Pacific Islands, by Judith D. Hamnett. Honolulu, Hawaii: Pacific Islands Studies Program, Center for Asian and Pacific Studies, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 1986, 148 p.
HOLLIS Record
Images
The Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia & Hawaii, 1949-1954
Hawaii War Records Depository Photographs includes roughly 1,500 photographs taken by the U.S. Army Signal Corps, the U.S. Navy, the Honolulu Star Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser between 1941 and 1946. All document the impact of World War II on Hawaiʻi.