Indian Organizations and Civil Rights
HOLLIS Library Catalog Subject Terms
- Indian activists -- Interviews
- Indians of North America -- Political activity
Document Collections
Archives Unbound: American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism.
Papers of the Society of American Indians. 10 microfilm reels + Guide
Tozzer | Microfilm | N.A.ANT. So 13 g
--First modern Pan-Indian reform group. About 5,600 documents from 45 repositories. Includes are Society correspondence, bylaws, etc.
Major Council meetings of American Indian tribes, 1907-1971. 2 pts. on 52 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 481 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 481 Level B
Online Guide (Scroll down to "Major").
--Pt. 1. sect. 1. 1914-1956. sect. 2. 1911-1956 (26 microfilm reels) -- pt. 2. sect. 1. 1957-1971 (2 sect. on 26 microfilm reels)
The FBI files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee [1970-1983]. 26 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 617.4 = Guide Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 617.4 Level B
Online Guide (Scroll down)
Indian Rights Association papers, 1864-1973 Microform.
ser. 1. reels 1-65. Correspondence, 1864-1968 -- ser. 2. reels 99-104. Organizational records, 1882-1973 -- ser. 3. reels 105-132. Printed matter, 1830-1969 -- ser. 4. reels 133-134. Herbert Welsh papers, 1877-1934 -- ser. 5. reel 135. Photograph -- ser. 6. reel 136. Council on Indian Affairs, 1943-1968.
Microfilm of originals in: Historical Society of Pennsylvania collections.
Council on Indian Affairs.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 638
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 638 = Guide
The Association on American Indian Affairs archives. General and tribal files, 1851-1983. 2 pts. on 197 microfilm reels + guide
pt. 1. General files (91 reels) -- pt. 2. Tribal files (106 reels). (Native America, a primary record. Series 2)
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1311.2
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1311.2 = guide
Online Guide (hit N)
The Association on American Indian Affairs Archives-- publications, programs, and legal and organizational files, 1851-1983. 119 microfilm reels + 1 printed guide (Native America, a primary record. Series 3)
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1311.3
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1311.3 = guide
Online Guide (hit N)
The Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D. : including the papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the papers of Joseph W. Latimer. 9 microfilm reels + 1 guide
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 476 = guide
Tozzer | Microfilm | N.A.SOC. M 765 p
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 476
Online Guide (hit N)
--Montezuma was a physician and American Indian activist, and a founder of the Society of American Indians.
--Consists of the correspondence, speeches, essays, medical notes, and financial material of Dr. Montezuma as well as most issues of his newsletter, Wassaja. Also contains the correspondence of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore, and the correspondence and publications of Joseph W. Latimer.
Reel 1. Correspondence, ca. 1887 through May 1904 -- reel 2. Correspondence, 19 May 1904 through 8 Oct. 1911 -- reel 3. Correspondence, 9 Oct. 1911 through 26 Oct. 1914 -- reel 4. Correspondence, 29 Oct 1914 through 1 Sept. 1920 -- reel 5. Correspondence, 1 Sept 1920 through Wassaja essays, speeches &
testimony -- reel 6. Essays, speeches and testimony -- reel 7. Essays, speeches & testimony 2nd, misc. -- reel 8. Financial, medical materials and Society of American Indians materials, 1911-1923 -- reel 9. Papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the papers of Joseph W. Latimer.
Iroquois Indians : a documentary history of the diplomacy of the Six Nations and their League (1600s-1920s). 50 microfilm reels.<BR>
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 501
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 501 = guide
Online Guide (hit N)
--Includes minutes of council meetings, treaty conferences and negotiations, contracts, treaties and agreements.