Australian
HOLLIS Subject Terms – Background and Context – Secondary Sources – Bibliographies – Biography – Archives – Document Collections – Government Documents – News – Personal Accounts – Visual
HOLLIS Subject Terms
- Aboriginal Australians in art
- Aboriginal Australians in literature
- Aboriginal Australians in mass media
- Aboriginal Australians in motion pictures
- Aboriginal Tasmanians
- Art, Aboriginal Australian
- Australian languages
- Frontier and pioneer life Australia
- Native title (Australia)
- Rock paintings
- Torres Strait Islanders
- Women, Aboriginal Australian
Cambridge History of Australia Vol. 1 (CHA1), ed. by Alison Bashford and Stuart Macintyre, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press 2013.
Online Version
The Oxford companion to Australian history, ed. by Graeme Davison et al. Rev. ed. South Melbourne ; NY: Oxford University Press, 2001, 722 p.
Lamont | DU110 .O93 2001
Widener | RR 3961.33
Online Version
Encyclopedia of Women & Leadership in Twentieth-Century Australia
The Oxford companion to Aboriginal art and culture, ed. by Sylvia Kleinert and Margo Neale et al. Melbourne; NY: Oxford University Press, 2000, 758 p.
Tozzer | REF | N7401 .O94 2000
HOLLIS Record
The Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, society and culture, ed. by David Horton. Canberra, ACT : Published by Aboriginal Studies Press for the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies, 1994. 2 v.
Tozzer | REF | DU125 .E5 1994
Widener | WID-LC | DU120 .E53 1994x
HOLLIS Record
Royal Historical Society Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies Online offer annotated bibliographies of secondary sources:
- Indigenous Rights and Governance in Canada, Australia, and New Zealand
- Australian Languages
- History of Adoption and Fostering in Australia
Aboriginal studies resource list, by Alex Barlow. 2nd ed. Canberra, A.C.T. : Aboriginal Studies Press for the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies, 1989. 115 p.
Tozzer | Harvard Depository TOZ-LC | DU125.Z99 B3 1989 FOLIO
HOLLIS Record http://hollis.harvard.edu/?itemid=|library/m/aleph|003033389
‘A Select Bibliography of Aboriginal History and Social Change’, by Diane Barwick, et al. Aboriginal History, vol. 1, pt 2, 1977, pp. 11-69.
Aboriginal history inTozzer | Harvard Depository | L.SOC.10.5.1.22
HOLLIS Record
The Aboriginal people of Victoria. Melbourne : State Library of Victoria, 1993- 2 v.
Widener | Harvard Depository | GN667.V6
HOLLIS Record
--v. 1. Select bibliography of pre-1960 printed sources in the collections of the State Library of Victoria
--v. 2. Select bibliography of post-1959 printed sources in the collections
Black Australia 2 : an annotated bibliography and teacher's guide to resources on Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders, 1977-82 / Marji Hill and Alex Barlow. Canberra, ACT : Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies, 1985, 96 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | GN665.Z99 H542 x, 1985
HOLLIS Record
History in portraits : biographies of nineteenth century South Australian Aboriginal people, ed. by Jane Simpson and Luise Hercus. Canberra : Aboriginal History Inc., 1998, 257 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository
HOLLIS Record
Australian dictionary of biography. [Melbourne] Melbourne University Press; London, New York, Cambridge University Press, 1966-2007.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | DU82 .A9 Library's v. 15 has "Corrigenda" attached
Widener | WID-LC | DU82 .A9 "Corrigenda", inserted in v. 11-17
Online
HOLLIS Record
Many of the records held by the National Archives of Australia are digitised.
For a guide to these records, see
Australian Archives. ACT Regional Office. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in commonwealth records: a guide to records in the Australian Archives, ACT Regional Office, by Ros Fraser. Canberra : Australian Government Publishing Service, 1993, 478 p.
Tozzer | REF | DU125 .A5 1993 Errata slip inserted.
Widener | Harvard Depository | GN666 .F74 1993
HOLLIS Record
Australian Literary and Historical Texts
Text Queensland is a collection of full text books, journals, theses, newspapers, and government documents relating to the history of Queensland.
A History of Aboriginal Sydney
Virtual Sourcebook for Aboriginal Studies in the Hunter Region
Original documents on Aborigines and law, 1797-1840
The struggle for aboriginal rights: a documentary history, by Bain Attwood and Andrew Markus. [St. Leonards], NSW, Australia : Allen & Unwin, 1999, 375 p.
Lamont | GN666 .S85 1999
Law School | Harvard Depository | GN666 .S77x 1999
HOLLIS Record
Aborigines and settlers: the Australian experience, 1788-1939, ed. by Henry Reynolds. Stanmore, N.S.W. : Cassell Australia, 1979. 1 vol.
Widener | Harvard Depository
HOLLIS Record
Dispossession : Black Australians and white invaders, by Henry Reynolds. Sydney ; Boston : Allen & Unwin, 1989, 226 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | DU120 .D57x 1989
HOLLIS Record
Parliamentary papers and reports regarding Aborigines for the colony and state of Victoria (Scroll down to Aborigines)
To Remove and Protect: Laws that Changed Aboriginal Lives
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Trove Digitised Newspapers, 1803-1954 includes 26 digitized Australian and Tasmanian newspapers. Each paper is currently available for an often short segment of the 1803-1954 span.
Find travel accounts in HOLLIS by searching the standard subject term: Australia “Description and Travel”.
Frontiers: experience on the Australian frontiers 1788-1950. Potts Point, N.S.W. : Hordern House, 1991, 176 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DU99.Z99 H67 1991x
--Lists descriptions of frontier life.
Analytical checklist of first-hand accounts in French of colonial Australia : with details of published English translation, by C.B. Thornton-Smith. 2nd ed.. Clayton, Vic. : English Dept., Monash University, 1986. 44 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository